Resources in Victorian Studies

 
Electronic items marked are licensed for use by members of the University of Toronto community; use by others may be restricted. Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
 
Reference Materials

DA/26/E56 REF
English Historical Documents.
Ed. David C. Douglas. London: Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1953-.

DA/28/D5/1885a REF; Located on the South wall of the Pratt Library Reading Room
Dictionary of National Biography.
Ed. Leslie Stephen. London: Smith, Elder, 1885-1900.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography online

DA550 .527 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era
. Ed. Melinda James Eli Adams, Ed. in chief. Danbury, CT: Grolier Academic Reference.

DA/550/E53/1996. REF

The Encyclopedia of the Victorian World.
Ed. Melinda Corey and George Ochoa. New York: Holt, 1996.

DA530 .C76 2004 STACKS
Companion to Nineteenth-century Britain
. Ed. Chris Williams. Maiden, Mass.: Blackwell Pub, 2004

DA/550/V53/1988 REF

Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia.
Ed.Sally Mitchell. New York: Garland, 1988.

DA/560/E43/1993 REF
The 1890s: An Encyclopedia of British Literature, Art and Culture.
Ed. G.A. Cevasco. New York: Garland, 1993.

PR/56/M37/1990 REF
Marcuse, Michael J. A Reference Guide for English Studies. Berkeley: U. of California Press, 1990.

PR/85/B688 REF
British Writers.
Ed. Ian Scott-Kilvert. New York: Scribner,1979-.

PR/85/C29/1993 STACKS
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English.
Ed. Ian Ousby; foreword by Doris Lessing. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1993.

PR/591/V53/1984 REF
Victorian Poets Before 1850.
Ed. William E. Fredeman and Ira B. Nadel. Detroit: Gale, 1984.

PR/591/V5/1985 REF
Victorian Poets After 1850.
Ed. William E. Fredeman and Ira B. Nadel. Detroit: Gale, 1985.

PR/593/F3/1968 REF
The Victorian Poets: A Guide to Research.
Ed. Frederic E. Faverty. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard UP, 1968.

PR/781/V53/1987 REF
Victorian Prose Writers Before 1867.
Ed. William B. Thesing. Detroit: Gale, 1987.

PR/781/V52/1987 REF
Victorian Prose Writers After 1867.
Ed. William B. Thesing. Detroit: Gale, 1987.

PR/785/D4 REF
Victorian Prose: A Guide to Research.
Ed. David J. DeLaura. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1973.

PR/863/L382/1999 REF
Late-Victorian and Edwardian British Novelists.
Second Series. Ed. George M. Johnson. Detroit: Gale, 1999.

PR/871/C64/2002 REF
A Companion to the Victorian Novel.
Ed. William Baker and Kenneth Womack. Westport, Conn: Greenwood, 2002.

PR/871/V55/1983 REF
Victorian Novelists Before 1885.
Ed. Ira P. Nadel and William E. Fredeman. Detroit: Gale, 1983.

PR/871/V54/1983 REF
Victorian Novelists After 1885.
Ed. Ira P. Nadel and William E. Fredeman. Detroit: Gale, 1983.

PR/1111/L6/L66/1997 REF
London, 1066-1914.
Vol. 2 & vol. 3. Ed. Xavier Brown. Mountfield, East Sussex: Helm Information, c1997.

Z/1033/Y44/T67/1993 REF
Topp, Chester W. Victorian Yellowbacks & Paperbacks, 1849-1905. Denver, Colo.: Hermitage Antiquarian Bookshop, 1993-.

Z/2013/B593/1991 REF
Bibliographies of Studies in Victorian Literature for the Ten Years 1975-1984.
Ed. Richard C.Tobias. New York: AMS Press, 1991.

Z/2014/F4/M39/1989 REF
Mazzeno, Laurence W. The Victorian Novel: An Annotated Bibliography. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1989.

Z/2014/P7/R454/2002 REF
Reilly, Catherine W. Mid-Victorian Poetry, 1960-1879: An Annotated Biobibliography. New York: Mansell, 2000.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      [top]
Architecture

Use the subject heading Architecture, Victorian to find other books in this area.

NA/645/S9 STACKS
Summerson, Sir John Newenham. Victorian Architecture: Four Studies in Evaluation. New York: Columbia Univ. Press, 1970.

NA/2550/R87/1907 STACKS
Ruskin, John. The Seven Lamps of Architecture. London: Cassell, 1907.

ND/467/R87/1907 STACKS
Ruskin, John. Pre-Raphaelitism: Lectures on Architecture & Painting, &c. London: J.M. Dent, 1907.

              [top]

Art
Use the following subject headings to find other books on Victotian art:
 
Art, Victorian
Painters Great Britain
Painting, Victorian Great Britain
Painting, Modern 19th century
Painters England 19th century
 

N/6767/J46/1992 STACKS
Jenkyns, Richard. Dignity and Decadence: Victorian Art and the Classical Inheritance. Cambridge Mass.: Harvard UP, 1992.

N/7483/R87/J64/1993/Large STACKS
Casteras, Susan P. John Ruskin and the Victorian Eye. New York: Harry N. Abrams; Phoenix: Phoenix Art museum, 1993.

ND/467/C45/1993 STACKS
Cherry, Deborah. Painting Women: Victorian Women Artists. London: Routledge, 1993.

ND/467/L36/1999 REF
Lambourne, Lionel. Victorian Painting. London: Phaidon, 1999.

ND/467/T7/1993 STACKS
Treuherz, Julian. Victorian Painting. London: Thames & Hudson, 1993.

ND/467/W66/1995 REF
Wood, Christopher. Victorian Painters. Woodbridge, Suffolk [England]: Antique Collectors' Club, 1995.

NX/543/S64/1995 STACKS
Smith, Lindsay. Victorian Photography, Painting, and Poetry. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1995.

[top]

 
History and Sociology

Use the following subject headings to find other books:

Great Britain history Victoria 1837-1901
Great Britain social conditions 19th century
England social life and customs 19th century
Great Britain intellectual life 19th century

DA/26/D58/1993 STACKS
Documents in British History.
Comp. Brian L. Blakely and Jacquelin Collins. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1993.

DA/33/M675/1996 STACKS
Mitchell, Sally. Daily Life in Victorian England. Westport CT: Greenwood, 1996.

DA/533/T86/1993 STACKS
Turner, Frank, M. Contesting Cultural Authority: Essays in Victorian Intellectual Life. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1993.

DA/550/S63/1991 STACKS
Souden, David. The Victorian Village. London: Collins & Brown, c1991.

DA/667 .P5/1993 STACKS
Philip, Neil. Victorian Village Life. Spring Hill, Idbury : Albion, 1993.

HC/252/.5/M65/H37/1991 STACKS
Harvey, Charles and Jon Press. William Morris: Design and Enterprise in Victorian Britain. Manchester, England: Manchester Univ. Press, 1991.

HC/258/L6/J6/1992 STACKS
Jones, Gareth.Stedman Outcast London: A Study in the Relationship Between Classes in Victorian Society. London: Penguin Books, 1992.

HN/385/V55/1990 STACKS
Victorian Values: Personalities and Perspectives in Nineteenth-Century Society
Ed. Gordon Marsden. London: Longman, 1990.

HQ/1593/F43/1994 STACKS
Feminism and Political Economy in Victorian England.
Ed. Peter Groenewegen. Brookfield, Vt.: Elgar, 1994.

HQ/1595/A3/C34/1992 STACKS
Caine, Barbara. Victorian Feminists. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1992.

HQ/1599/E5/P47/1995 STACKS
Perkin, Joan. Victorian Women. New York: New York UP, 1995.

HQ/614.15/B73/I77/1995 STACKS
Ittman, Karl. Work, Gender and Family in Victorian England. Washington Square, N.Y.: New York UP, 1995.

HT/133/B7/1990 STACKS
Briggs, Asa. Victorian Cities. London: Penguin, 1990.

HV/63/G7/W66/1991 STACKS
Wood, Peter. Poverty and the Workhouse in Victorian Britain. Wolfeboro Falls, N.H.: Alan Sutton Pub., c1991.

JN/1120/C69/1987 STACKS
Cox, Gary. The Efficient Secret: The Cabinet and the Development of Political Parties in Victorian England. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1987.

HN/385/H352 STACKS
Harrison, J.F.C. Late Victorian Britain, 1870-1901. England: Fontana Press, 1990.

PR/468/R44/M39/1993 STACKS
Maynard, John.Victorian Discourses on Sexuality and Religion. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1993.

PR/468/S34/D35/1989 STACKS
Dale, Peter Allan. In Pursuit of a Scientific Culture: Science, Art, and Society in the Victorian Age. Madison, Wisc.: Univ. of Wisconsin Press, c1989.

[top]

Music

To find other materials try using the subject heading: music England 19th century

"Music in Victorian Society and Culture." Victorian Studies, Volume 30, number 1 (Autumn 1986).

PN/1968/G7/K5313 STACKS
Kift, Dagmar. The Victorian Music-Hall: Culture, Class and Conflict. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

[top]

Literature

Use some of the following subject headings to find other materials:

English drama 19th century
English fiction 19th century
English literature 19th century
English poetry 19th century
English prose literature 19th century
 

Using names of individual authors, followed by the subheading "criticism and interpretation" is the way to find materials about an author's work. For example:

  • Browning, Robert 1812-1889 criticism and interpretation
  • Dickens, Charles 1812-1870 criticism and interpretation

PN/2594/B58/1991 STACKS
Booth, Michael R. Theatre in the Victorian Age. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1991.

PN/5124/P4/V55/1994 STACKS
Victorian Periodicals and Victorian Society.
Ed. J. Don Vann and Rosemary T. VanArsdel. Aldershot, Eng.: Scolar Press, c1994.

PR/115/G5 STACKS
Gilbert, Sandra M. The Madwoman in the Attic: the Woman Writer and the Nineteenth-century Literary Imagination. New Haven: Yale UP, 1979.

PR/461/G55/1993 STACKS
Gilmour, Robin. The Victorian Period: the Intellectual and Cultural Context of English Literature, 1830-1890. New York: Longman, 1993.

PR/461/H28/1991 STACKS
Hardman, Malcolm. Six Victorian Thinkers. Manchester, England: Manchester UP, 1991.

PR/461/M64/1993 STACKS
Morse, David. High Victorian Culture. Washington Square, N.Y.: New York UP, 1993.


PR461 .N42 2005 REF
Nevins, Jess.  The Encyclopedia of Fantastic Victoriana. Austin, TX : MonkeyBrain, Inc., c2005.

PR/463/M55/1991 STACKS
Miller, J. Hillis. Victorian Subjects. Durham: Duke UP, 1991.

PR/468/F46/G4/1992 STACKS
Harrison, Antony H. and Beverly Taylor. Gender and Discourse in Victorian Literature and Art. Dekalb: Northern Illinois UP, 1992.

PR/468/H65/D68/1994 STACKS
Dowling, Linda. Hellenism and Homosexuality in Victorian Oxford. Ithaca: Cornell UP 1994.

PR/468/R44/M39/1993 STACKS
Maynard, John. Victorian Discourses on Sexuality and Religion. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1993.

PR/468/W6/A53/1993 STACKS
Anderson, Amanda. Tainted Souls and Painted Faces: The Rhetoric of Fallenness in Victorian Culture. Ithaca: Cornell UP, 1993.

PR/591/S83/1992 STACKS
Starzyk, Lawrence J. The Dialogue of the Mind with Itself: Early Victorian Poetry and Poetics. Calgary: Univ. of Calgary Press, 1992.

PR/595/H5/A76/1993 STACKS
Armstrong, Isobel. Victorian Poetry: Poetry, Poetics, and Politics. New York: Routledge, 1993.

PR/595/P7/E8/1993 STACKS
The Everyman Book of Victorian Verse: The Pre-Raphaelites to the Nineties. Ed. Donald Thomas. London: J.M. Dent, c1993.

PR/734/S5/J46/1991 STACKS
Jenkins, Anthony. The Making of Victorian Drama. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1991.

PR/861/B76/1985 STACKS
Brown, Julia Prewitt. A Reader's Guide to the Nineteenth Century English Novel. New York: Macmillan, c1985.

PR/871/H67/1990 STACKS
O'Gorman Francis. The Victorian Novel. Oxford, UK ; Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2002.

PR/871/S86/1990 STACKS
Sutherland, John. The Longman Companion to Victorian Fiction. Harlow, England: Longman, 1990.

PR/872/E27/1993 STACKS
The Early and Mid-Victorian Novel.
Ed. David Skilton. London: Routledge, 1993.

PR/878/S49/A43/1993 STACKS
Allen, Dennis W. Sexuality in Victorian Fiction. Norman: Univ. of Oklahoma Press, 1993.

PR/878/T3/M55/1992 STACKS
Milbank, Alison. Daughters of the House: Modes of the Gothic in Victorian Fiction. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1992.

[top]


Periodicals

Journal of Victorian Culture. Holdings: Vol. 11, Spring 2006--; online

Victorian Studies: A Quarterly Journal of the Humanities, Arts, and Sciences. Holdings: Vol. 1, 1957--

Victorian Studies Association Newsletter. Holdings: Vol. 1, 1968--

Victorian Poetry. Holdings: Vol. 1, 1963-- ; online

LITIR Newsletter of Victorian Studies. Holdings: Vol. 1, 1983--

Nineteenth Century Fiction. Holdings: Vol. 1, 1946-Vol. 40, 1986; online (Continued as Nineteenth Century Literature)

Nineteenth Century Literature. Holdings: Vol. 41, 1986-- ; Several volumes available online (Formerly Nineteenth Century Fiction)

19th Century Music. online (no paper holdings available at Pratt)

Victorian Literature and Culture. Vol. 27 (1999)-- available online (no paper holdings available at Pratt)

[top]

Article Indexes
Poole, William Frederick. Pooles's Index to Periodical Literature 1893-1938. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin
AI/3/P7 1893 REF;
available online in
19th Century Masterfile
Wall, C. Edward. Cumulative author index for Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1906. Ann Arbour, Mich: Pierian Press, 1971.
AI/3/W3 REF
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, with Supplementary Indexing, 1900-1922. New York : H.W. Wilson, 1944.
AI3 .R47
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1966-1989.
Z/2005/H6 REF; available online
Victorian Database
1945-1999 available online
MLA International Bibliography
1963- available online
Historical Abstracts
1954- available online
Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) 1770- available online

Wall, C. Edward. Cumulative Author Index for Poole's Index
to Periodical Literature 1802-1906
Ann Arbour, Mich: Pierian Press, 1971.

AI/3/W3 REF

Historical Newspapers Online
· The Official Index to The [London] Times, 1906-1980
· Palmer's Index to The [London] Times, 1790-1905
· Palmer's Full Text Online (The [London] Times), 1785-1870
· The Historical Index to The New York Times, 1851-1922

                             
[top]

 
Internet Resources
Resources for HIS477Y Fall 2006
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals 1800-1900

[top]

Originally created by B. Holstead

Revised by G. Zaldin, Nov. 2007