Resources in Social Sciences

Electronic items marked are licensed for use by members of the University of Toronto community; use by others may be restricted. Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
 
Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries & Bibliographies
D11 .M39 1999 Reference
Mellersh, H. E. L. Chronology of World History.

GN 307 E53 1991 Reference

Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Ed. David Levinson. Boston: G.K. Hall.
A ten-volume encyclopedia that examines cultural groups around the world. Each volume covers a geographic region, broken down into the various cultural groups and diaspora found in those regions. Bibliographies accompany entries and vol. 10 provides a "List of Cultures by Country", "Ethnonym Index", and an extensive "Subject Index."

H 40 A215 Reference

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ed. David L. Sills. New York: Macmillan.
A nineteen-volume work covering ideas, topics, and figures in the social sciences. Articles are signed and contain bibliographies. Vol. 18 provides biographical overviews of major figures in the social sciences and vol. 19 provides quotations of major importance. The work is well-indexed.
[Web]
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Ed. Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baltes. Elsevier Science.
An electronic resource covering numerous aspects of the social sciences. The section on sociology provides overviews of major areas and topics within sociology. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics, and articles have reference lists for further reading. This resource has a search function.


H41 .B53 2003 Reference
The Blackwell dictionary of modern social thought. 2nd ed. Ed. William Outhwaite. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers.

H 41 S63 2004 Reference
The Social Science Encyclopedia. Ed. Adam Kuper & Jessica Kuper. London; New York: Routledge.
A single volume quick-reference encyclopedia providing introductions to topics and figures in the social sciences. Less detailed than the above work.

H61.15 .H36 2001 Stacks
Handbook of Social Theory. Eds. George Ritzer & Barry Smart. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
Divided into three sections, this book critically examines the historical tradition, contemporary theory, and current issues in social theory. Essays include lengthy articles on particular theorists and their work (e.g., Marx, Comte, Mannheim, Weber, Foucault) as well as lengthy bibliographies for further reading.

HM35 .H35 2005 Reference
The handbook of economic sociology. 2nd ed. Eds. Neil J. Smelser and Richard Swedberg.

HM 17 E5 2000 Reference

Encyclopedia of Sociology. 2nd ed. Ed. Edgar F. Borgatta. Detroit: Macmillan Reference.
A topic-driven five-volume encyclopedia that provides essay-length explorations of major subjects and ideas, but not major figures (e.g. entry for Marxist sociology but not Karl Marx), in sociology. Major figures can be found in the index with references to entries where they appear. All articles are signed and contain extensive bibliographies. This work provides concise overviews of major arears in current and historical sociology.

HM425 .E47 2005 Reference
Encyclopedia of Social Theory Ed. George Ritzer.
As a source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.

HM 425 S63 2000 Stacks
Sociology Basics. Ed. Carl L. Bankston III. Pasadena, CA; Hackensack, NJ: Salem Press.
A two-volume work covering key areas in sociology. Individual entries contain a glossary of key terms, overviews, applications, social contexts, bibliographies and cross-referenced entries. NB: this is a circulating item and can be found in the stacks.

HM 585 .A13 2007 Reference 2 vols.
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook
. Eds. Clifton D. Bryant and Dennis L. Peck. Thousand Oaks, [Calif.] : SAGE Publications.
Provides an extensive review of the main specialty areas within international sociology as it is today. In each chapter, the authors have examined the historical development of their particular area, summarized the current state of knowledge, and suggested future research directions.


HM 585 W67 2001 Reference
World of Sociology. Ed. Joseph M. Palminsano. Detroit: Gale.
A very recent reference work, this two-volume set is especially useful for its short entires on topics that incorporate current issues (e.g. cloning as an example of 'cultural lag'). The work is well cross-referenced but does not contain suggested further reading. A historical chronology in vol. 2 provides a compact history of the ideas and figures in sociology.


HM 73 I544 1998 Reference
Human Values and Beliefs: A Cross-Cultural Sourcebook. Inglehart, Ronald; Basañez, Miguel; & Moreno, Alejandro. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press.
This volume "enables the reader to examine the basic values and attitudes of the peoples of more than 40 societies around the world" (from the introduction). Tables provide basic statistics for societal attitudes towards topics in ecology, economy, education, emotions, family, gender/sexuality, government and politics, health, leisure, morality, religion, society and nation, and work. The statistics are from the 1990-1993 World Values Survey.


HN 28 .E53 1994 Reference (also available Online)
Encyclopedia of Social History. Ed. Peter N. Stearns. New York: Garland.
Provides a chronological overview of the development of ideas, ideologies, and methodological approaches to the study of social history. Short bibliographies accompany signed entries.

HT108.5 .E63 2005 Reference
Encyclopedia of the City.  Ed. Caves, Roger W. London ; New York : Routledge, 2005.

Z7164 S68A24 2005 Reference
Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. 3rd Ed. Aby, Stephen H.
Lists bibliographies, indexes, abstracts, databases, guides, handbooks, and dictionaries and encyclopedias for finding information for various social science disciplines as well as particular fields within sociology. An excellent resource for when you don't know where or how to begin looking for information.


[top]

Dictionaries

H 41 D53 2002 Reference [Web]
Dictionary of the Social Sciences. Ed. Craig Calhoun. New York: Oxford UP.


HM17 .E53 2005 Reference [Web]
Dictionary of Sociology. 3rd ed. Eds. John Scott and Gordon Marshall. Oxford; New York: Oxford UP.
Briefly defines terms, describes the major concepts of sociology, and includes some biographical entries for sociologists.

HM 17 J64 2000 Reference

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language. Johnson, Alan G. Malden, MA; Oxford: Blackwell.


HM424 C36 2006 Reference
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology. Ed. Bryan S. Turner. Cambridge [England]; New York: Cambridge UP.
A source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses
.
                                                                                                                                                             [top]

Handbooks

         HB829.5 .W75 2002 Reference
         Writing in the Dark: Phenomenological Studies in Interpretive Inquiry. Max Van. Manen London, Ont.: Althouse          Press.

          H61 .R668 2008 3rd Ed. Stacks
          
Philosophy of Social Science
. Alexander Rosenberg. Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press.

Q180.55 M4S67 1995 Reference
Handbook of Research Methods: A Guide for Practitioners and Students in the Social Sciences. Sproull, Natalie L. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press.

Z 710 B22 2000 Reference
Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog. Badke, William. San Jose: Writers Club Press.

[top]

Article Databases
Expanded Academic Index   (1980 - present) CSA Francis   (Humanities and Social Sciences)
Left Index (1982 - present)
Social Science Abstracts (1994 - present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (Social Science coverage 1956 - present)

Sociological Abstracts
(1963 - present)

Gender Studies Database
Combines Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases.


Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984
Indexes scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences and Scientific journals.


For other useful indexes, see UTL e-indexes for Sociology and Social Sciences.                                              [top]

Sociology on the WWW

Social Sciences Resources: Sociology and Anthropology
An extensive list of links to various Web resources in sociology and anthropology. The list is maintained by McGraw-Hill Ryerson and forms part of the site, Using the Web for Social Research, by Craig McKie.
WWW Virtual Library: Sociology

An excellent resource from McMaster University that provides links to quality summaries of major theorists' work and bibliographies.
The Sociolog

An extensive guide to sociology resources available online. Especially useful are the "Sociology Links".
Sociology Dictionary

A quick reference online dictionary for sociological terms. Terms listed alphabetically, but unfortunately the site is not searchable.
Sociology Internet Resources
An extensive list of links organized by general subject, including: Culture & Society; Ethnicity; Women; Family; Criminology; and Theory.
A Sociological Tour through cyberspace
An excellent selection of useful links for students at the undergraduate and graduate levels.
SocioSite
A "megasite" from the Sociological Institute of the University of Amsterdam that groups sociology resources into 24 categories including subject areas, data archives, e-journals, departments, centres, and other resource guides and sites.
Dead Sociologists' Society
Overviews of major theorists in sociology, including biographical sketches and theoretical summaries.
Voice of the Shuttle - Gender Studies
Voice of the Shuttle - Cultural Studies

Extensive list of links to various resources on the Web. Many are only peripherally related to sociology, but there is a lot of information on various approaches to culture and gender, sociological or otherwise.
Intute: Social Sciences

This onlie sevice provides a searchable database of respected and high-quality Internet-based information for students and researchers. Numerous topics with the social sciences are included.
FREE Internet for Social Research Methods online tutorial
The tutorial teaches Internet research and information skills to help university students.

[top]

updated December 2007
created by Adam Taves 2003