Resources in Renaissance Studies

Electronic items marked are licensed for use by members of the University of Toronto community; use by others may be restricted. Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
 
Reference Materials

History
CB361 .C8 1993 REF
Cultural Atlas of the Renaissance
. 1st ed. New York: Prentice Hall General Reference, 1993.

CB359 .B47 2004 REF
Bergin, Thomas Goddard. Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation. New York: Facts on File Publications, 2004.

CB361 .C27 2003 REF
Campbell, Gordon. The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.

CB361 .N33 2004 REF
Nauert, Charles Garfield. Historical Dictionary of the Renaissance. Lanham [MD]: Scarecrow Press, 2004.

CB361 .R26 REF
Rachum, Ilan. The Renaissance: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. London: Octopus, 1979.

D203 .H33 1994 REF
Handbook of European History, 1400-1600: Late Middle Ages, Renaissance and Reformation.
Leiden; New York: E.J. Brill, 1994-

D208 .N4 REF & STACKS
The New Cambridge Modern History
. vol. 1 The Renaissance 1493-1520; vol. 2 The Reformation 1520-1559. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1990-

DC35 .R64 REF
Roberts, William. France: a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present. New York: Facts on File, 2004.

DG461 .S27 REF
Sarti, Roland. Italy: a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present. New York: Facts on File, 2004.

DG537 .8 A1 C6 REF
A Concise Encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance.
Ed. J.R. Hale. New York Oxford, 1981.

Geography

G107 .G9 1972 REF
Grasse, Johann Georg Theodor. Orbis Latinus. Braunschweig: Klinkhardt & Bierman, 1972
A gazetteer of Medieval Latin place names.

Art

N31 .D5 1996 REF
The Dictionary of Art
. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996. 34 vols. (available online)

N6370 .E53 2000 REF

Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance & Mannerist Art. Ed. Jane Turner. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 2000. 2 vols.

N31 .E533 REF
Encyclopedia of World Art.
New York: McGraw-Hill (1959-1987). 17 vols.


Literature

See Resources in English Literature.

PR19 .R8 1975 REF
Ruoff, James E. Crowell's Handbook of Elizabethan & Stuart Literature. New York: Crowell, 1975.

PR83 .M73 1910 REF
Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors
. Vol. 1 680-1638. Ed. Charles W. Moulton. New York: Henry Malkan Publisher, 1910.

PR85 .B688 REF
British Writers
Ed. Ian Scott Kilvert. Vol. I & 2. New York: Scribner, 1979.

PR411 .C66 2000 REF

A Companion to English Renaissance Literature and Culture. Ed. Michael Hattaway. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell.

PR411 .M35 1997 REF
Major Tudor Authors: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook.
Ed. Alan Hager. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1997.

PR411 .S58 1994 REF / PR 411 S582 1994
Sixteenth-Century British NonDramatic Writers.
Dictionary of Literary Biography. Ed. David A. Richardson. First & Second Series. Detroit: Gale, 1994.

PR421 .S33 1983 REF

Saunders, J.W. A Biographical Dictionary of Renaissance Poets and Dramatists, 1520-1650. Sussex, England: Harverster, c1983.

PR411 C66 2000 REF

A Companion to English Renaissance Literature and Culture. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2000.

Z2012 .T3 1967 REF

Tannenbaum, Samuel Aaron. Elizabethan Bibliographies. Port Washington N.Y.: Kennikat Press, 1967.

Z2014 .F4 H37 REF

Harner, James L. English Renaissance Prose Fiction, 1500-1660: An Annotated Bibliography of Criticism. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1978.

Z2014 .P795 H45 REF

Heninger, S.K. English Prose, Prose Fiction and Criticism to 1660: A Guide to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Research, 1975.
                                                                                                                                         [top]
Article Databases

To locate articles in journals, use the following periodical indexes:

Abstracts of English Studies PE 25 A16 REF

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). Z 2011 M69 REF; online

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials ;

British Humanities Index

Humanities Abstracts AI 3 H8 REF (for coverage 1974/75 - Sept. 1991); online (for coverage Jan. 1994 - present)

Historical Abstracts

Iter: Gateway to the Medieval Ages and Renaissance

MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures Z 7006 M64 REF (for coverage 1956 - 1990); Available through the UTL page's frequently used database

Philosophers Index Cumulative Edition. Current year Z 7127 P47 REF; Available through UTL E-Resources for Philosophy

[top]

Key Journals

Holdings may vary, verify online coverage in U of T Library catalogue:

Renaissance News. Holdings: [1]2-19, 1948-1966; online (Later title: Renaissance Quarterly)

Renaissance Quarterly. Holdings: Vol. 20, 1967-2001 ; online (Former title: Renaissance News) ; 2000+ current issues online

Speculum: A Journal of Mediaeval Studies. Holdings: vol. 1, 1926-1999 online

Sixteenth Century Journal

Traditio. Holdings: Vol. 1 (1943)-Vol. 31 (1975); index available online

[top]

 
Subject Headings

To locate materials relevant to the study of the Renaissance using the Library Catalogue, search the subject field using browse by entering an appropriate subject heading.

Examples of common headings for Renaissance material are:

  • Renaissance
  • Renaissance England (or any other country)
  • English literature Early modern 1500-1700 history and criticism
  • Literature modern 15th and 16th centuries
  • Politics and literature Great Britain (or any other country) history 16th century

For other relevant materials about an author, type the author's name as a subject.
For example: Shakespeare William 1564-1616 criticism and interpretation

[top]

 
Other Useful Texts

CB361 .C26 1996 STACKS
The Cambridge Companion to Renaissance Humanism
. Ed. Kill Kraye. Cambridge ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

CB361 .J35 1996 STACKS
Jardine, Lisa. Worldly Goods: A New History of the Renaissance. New York: Nan A. Talese, c1996.

CB361 .J43 STACKS
Jensen, De Lamar. Renaissance Europe: Age of Recovery and Reconciliation. Lexington, Mass.: D.C. Heath, c1981.

CB361 .K37 1989 STACKS
Kerrigan, William. The Idea of the Renaissance. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1989.

CB361 .K67 1992 STACKS
Renaissance Essays
. Ed. Paul Oskar Kristeller and Philip P. Wiener. Library of the History of Ideas, Vol. 9 & 10. Rochester, NY: University of Rochester Press, 1992.

CB361 .N34 1995 STACKS
Nauert, Charles Garfield. Humanism and the Culture of Renaissance Europe. Cambridge, England; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1995.

CB361 .R3815 1993 STACKS
Renaissance Culture in Context: Theory and Practice.
Ed. Jean R. Brink and William F. Gentrup. Aldershot: Scolar Press, c1993.

CB361 .S82 1996 STACKS
Subject and Object in Renaissance Culture.
Ed. Margreta de Grazia, Maureen Quilligan and Peter Stallybrass. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

CB367 .H35 1993 STACKS
Hale, J.R. The Civilization of Europe in the Renaissance. London: Harper Collins, 1993.

CB369 .M36 1992 STACKS
Manchester, William Raymond. A World Lit Only By Fire: The Medieval Mind and the Renaissance: Portrait of an Age. Boston: Little, Brown, c1992.

D210 .T79 1985 STACKS
Trevor-Roper, H.R. Renaissance Essays. Chicago: University of Chicago Press: London: M. Secker & Warburg, 1985.

NX450 .5 P37 1980 STACKS
Pater, Walter. The Renaissance: Studies in Art and Poetry: The 1893 Text. Berkeley: University of California Press, c1980.

PN2570 .W484 2002 STACKS
West, William. Theatres and Encyclopedias in Early Modern Europe. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2002.

PR411 .S66 1985 STACKS
Spearing, A.C. Medieval to Renaissance in English Poetry. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1985.

PR418 .P65 H33 1994 STACKS
Hadfield, Andrew. Literature, Politics and National Identity: Reformation to Renaissance. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1994.

PR428 .A76 R67 1987 STACKS
Roston, Murray. Renaissance Perspectives in Literature and the Visual Arts. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, c1987.

PR533 .M37 1991 STACKS
Martz, Louis Lohr. From Renaissance to Baroque: Essays on Literature and Art. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, c1991.

PR535 .H5 N67 1984 STACKS
Norbrook, David. Poetry and Politics in the English Renaissance. London; Boston: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1984.

[top]

 
Web Resources

Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies at Victoria University, in the University of Toronto

Sites on Shakespeare and the Renaissance

Sixteenth Century Renaissance English Literature, 1485-1603

Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature, Renaissance & 17th-Century

[top]

updated April 2006
Created by L. Sherlock