Political Science: Resources

 
Electronic items marked are licensed for use by members of the University of Toronto community; use by others may be restricted. Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
 
This list is highly selective. For more subject-specific, genre-specific, title-specific, or author-specific resources, see a staff member at the reference desk for assistance. In many cases, reference works with similar topics are shelved in the same area.
 

See Political Science: Key Resources from University of Toronto Libraries

See Essay Writing & Research Guides at E.J. Pratt Library

See How Do I... for further help with library research

 
Atlases
 

G 1019 .T52 1999 Reference
Times Atlas of the World
. 10th comprehensive ed. New York: Times Books.

G 1021 .A7545 2002 Reference
Atlas of the world
. 10th ed. New York: Oxford University Press.

G 1021 .H2665 1995 Reference
Hammond Atlas of the World
. Maplewood, NJ: Hammond.

 
[top]
 
Dictionaries
 

JA 61 .B43 1999 Reference
Bealy, Frank. Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: A User's Guide to its Terms. Malden, MA: Blackwell.

HA 61 .C65 1993 Reference
Comfort, Nicholas. Brewer's Politics: a Phrase and Fable Dictionary. London: Cassell.
Lists acronyms, phrases and concepts and puts these in context. Useful for finding alternative terms when doing computerized searching on the electronic databases.

D 419 .T44 1992 Reference
Teed, Peter. A Dictionary of Twentieth Century History: 1914-1990. Oxford: Oxford UP.
A good for locating events and learning about their significance.

JA 61 .S53 1993 Reference
Shafritz, Jay M. et al. The Dictionary of 20th-Century World Politics. New York: H. Holt.

JA 61 .E85 1990 Reference
Evans, Graham & Jeffrey Newnham. Dictionary of World Politics: a Reference Guide to Concepts, Ideas, and Institutions. New York: Simon & Schuster.

JA 61 .R63 2002 Reference
Robertson, David. Dictionary of Modern Politics. London: Europa.
Guide to the complex, ideology and terminology in the world of politics.

JA 83 .R725 1998 Reference
Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-century Political Thinkers
. 2nd ed. Eds. Robert Benewick and Philip Green. London; New York: Routledge.

JA65.64 2007 Reference
Hoffman, John. A Glossary of Political Theory.

JX 1226 .P55 1995 Reference
Ziring, Lawrence et al. International Relations: A Political Dictionary. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
Terms, concepts, events and facts discussed in terms of their political and historical significance.

JK 9 .S2 1993 Reference
Safire, William. Safire's New Political Dictionary: The Definitive Guide to the New Language of Politics. New York: Random House.

 
[top]
 
Encyclopedias
 

CT 120 .I5 2004 Reference (previous 5 years in stacks)
International Who's Who
. London: Europa Publications.

D 412.6 .H88 1999 Reference
Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography
. Boulder, CO: Westview Press.

D843 .A64 1994 Reference
Arms, Thomas S. Encyclopedia of the Cold War. New York: Facts on File.

E 76.2 .N36 1996 Reference
Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia
. Ed. Mary B. Davis. New York: Garland.

E 183 .E495 2001 Reference
Encyclopedia of American Political History
. Eds. Paul Finkelman & Peter Wallenstein. Washington, DC: QC Press.

JA 61 .B56 1991 Reference
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Science
. Ed. Vernon Bogdanor. Oxford: Blackwell.
Guide to the central concepts used in the study of western political systems and organizations.

JA 61 .B57 Reference
Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought
. Ed. David Miller. Oxford; New York: B. Blackwell.

Summarizes major ideas and doctrines of contemporary and historical influence in western political traditions.

Canadian Encyclopedia
Important source for Canadian subjects. The online version is the most up to date.

JA 61 .R63 2002 Reference
Robertson, David. A dictionary of modern politics. London: Europe.

JA 61 .C66 2004 Reference
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics
. Eds. Mary Hawkesworth and Maurice Kogan. London; New York: Routledge.

JC423 .E53 1995 Reference
Encyclopedia of Democracy
. Ed. Seymour Martin Lipset. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly.

JC423 .E54 2001 Reference
Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought
. Eds. Paul Barry Clarke and Joe Foweraker. New York : Routledge.

JC599 .U5 E53
The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America
. Eds. David Schultz & John R. Vile. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference.

JF 51 .D465 2000 Reference
Derbyshire, J. Denis & Ian Derbyshire. Encyclopedia of world political systems. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference.

JF 2011 .W67 2006 Reference
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems & Parties
. 4th ed. Eds. Neil Schlager & Jayne Weisblatt. New York: Facts on File.

PN52 .E53 2005 Reference
Encyclopedia of Literature &Politics: Censorship, Revolution, & Writing. General Ed. M. Keith Booker. Westport, Connecticut.: Greenwood Press

Z 7161 .H64 1986 Reference
Holler, Frederick L. Information Sources of Political Science. 4th ed. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
A good authoritative guide to political science research resources.

 
[top]
 
World Government & Politics
 

JN 1 .E85 1997:1 Stacks; 1997:2 Stacks; 1999:1-2 Reference
Europa World Yearbook
. London: Europe Publications.
Overviews of current political and social situations for each country of the world -- type of government, economic conditions, etc.

D 843 .C5798 2001 Reference
Cook, Chris. Facts on File World Political Almanac: from 1945 to the Present. 4th ed. revised by Whitney Walker. New York: Checkmark Books.

JA 66 .N49 1996 Reference
A New Handbook of Political Science
. Eds. Robert E. Goodin and Hans-Dieter Klingemann. Oxford; New York: Oxford UP.

HN 25 .K87 1991 Stacks
Kurian, George Thomas. The New Book of World Rankings. 3rd ed. updated by James Marti. New York: Facts on File.

JA 61 .O95 2001 Reference
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
. 2nd ed. Eds. Joel Krieger et al. New York: Oxford UP.

JC11 .B475 2007 Reference (also available online)
Encyclopedia of Governance

JC571 .H75 2006
Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources
. K. Lee Lerner, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner, Eds.

JF 37 .P6 Reference; previous 10 years' editions in Stacks

Political Handbook of the World
. New York: McGraw-Hill.

JA 51 .S7 Reference; previous 10 years' editions in Stacks
Statesman's Year-book Statistical and Historical Annual of the States of the World
. New York: St. Martin's Press.

 
[top]
 
Canadian Politics
 

F1001 .C2151 Reference; previous years' (1971-) in Stacks
Canadian Annual Review of Politics and Public Affairs
. Ed. J.T. Saywell. Toronto: University of Toronto Press.

JL 167 .A56 1995 Reference
Eagles, Munroe et al. The Almanac of Canadian Politics. 2nd ed. Toronto: Oxford University Press.

JL148 .B72 1995 Reference
Stanford, Geoffrey H. Bourinot's Rules of order. 4th ed. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart.

JL 11 .C3 1992 Reference
Canada 125: Its Constitutions 1763-1982: Evolution of a Democracy
. Directed by J. Fernand Tanguay ; introduction by Senator Gérald A. Beaudoin. Montreal: Méridien; [Ottawa]: Canada Communication Group, Publishing.

JA 61 .M33 2001 Reference
McMenemy, John. The Language of Canadian Politics: A Guide to Important Terms and Concepts. 3rd ed. Waterloo, ON: Wilfred Laurier UP.

JL71 .F37 1997 Reference
Federal Guidebook: a Guidebook to the Canadian Federal Government and its Decision-makers
. Perth, ON: J-K Carruthers.

Z1382 .R42 1982
Prime Ministers of Canada: Selected Speeches, 1867-2002, Profiles, Bibliography with Editorial Commentary
. Ed. H. Raymond Samuels II. Ottawa: Agora Cosmopolitan.

 
[top]
 
Other Resources
 

JA 71 .C565 1993 Reference
Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy
. Eds. Robert E. Goodin and Philip Pettit. Oxford, UK; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell.

JA71 .J64 2004 5th ed. Reference
Johnson, Janet and H.T. Reynolds. Political Science Research Methods
It covers all the major research methods of the discipline and leads students step- by- step through the logic of research design. Much attention is given to online research.

PN 6084 .P6 E54 1993 Reference
Eigen, Lewis D. & Jonathan P. Siegel. Macmillan Dictionary of Political Quotations. New York: Macmillan; Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International.

PN 6084 .P6 O94 1996 Reference
Oxford Dictionary of Political Quotations
. Ed. Anton Jay. New York: Oxford UP.

PN 6084 .P6 P59 1994 Reference
Political Quotations: a Worldwide Dictionary of Thoughts and Pronouncements from Politicians, Literary Figures, Humorists and Others
. Compiled by Michael C. Thomsett and Jean Freestone Thomsett. Jefferson, NC: McFarland.

Z7161 .I543 2005 Reference
Green, Stephen W. and Douglas J. Ernest. Information Sources of Political Science. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO

[top]
 
Online Resources
 

America: History and Life
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book reviews (1954 to the present); covers the history of the United States and Canada to the present

Canadian Encyclopedia

The Canadian Foreign Relations Index (CFRI)
Online version of the print of A Bibliography of Works on Canadian Foreign Relations. "It contains Canadian and foreign material on Canada’s foreign relations, defence, economic relations, foreign aid, international law, and international environmental concerns. It covers material on the period 1945-2005."

Canadian Politics on the Web
Annotated links to literally hundreds of sites on the Internet that can help you with your research on Canadian politics and government. Many connections are provided to full-text documents and to useful graphs and maps.

Canadian Political Resources on the Net

CNN
Note: today's news and archive of previous five day's news

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.

Governments on the WWW
Centralized site, by country, for national government agencies and related sites.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
An annotated bibliography published annually since 1935 covering over 5,000 multi-disciplinary works per year on Latin American humanities and the social sciences, and produced by the Library of Congress.

Historical Abstracts
Indexes journals and books (1954 to the present); worldwide topical coverage (other than the U.S. and Canada), 1450 to the present; includes non-English resources

International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ)
"International, interdisciplinary bibliography with particular emphasis on the social sciences, arts and humanities. IBZ-Online covers more than 2.1 million records with assigned German and English subject headings from over 8,700 periodicals since 1983. IBZ is updated monthly."

International Political Science Abstracts 1989+
Abstracts of articles published in journals and yearbooks worldwide.

JSTOR
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.

NewsBank NewsFile 1991+
Index to full-text newspaper articles, from local and regional papers and newswires across the U.S.

Western Hemispheric Trade Information Center
Note: with numerous links to NAFTA and NAFTA-related topics.

Oxford Reference Online -- Politics and Social Sciences
The following dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford University Press can be searched individually as well as by the whole:
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History
A Dictionary of Geography
A Dictionary of Political Biography
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
A Dictionary of Psychology
Dictionary of the Social Sciences
A Dictionary of Sociology
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
Handbook of the World

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service Inc.)
Interdisciplinary, international index to periodicals relating to public issues and policy. 1972 to the present.

Political Science Resources (U of British Columbia)

Poole's Plus (part of 19th century Masterfile)
The electronic version of a standard reference index to the published books, periodicals, newspapers and government documents of the 19th century, covering 3.7 million records.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Currently the largest English-language encyclopedic work on philosophy. Entries (nearly 2000) include concepts, themes, and thinkers within various philosophical traditions. All articles signed and contain bibliographies.

Social Sciences Citation Index. 1956+
Electronic version covers 1980+. Covers all subjects in the social sciences and includes articles in
West European languages; this is the only database that shows references cited and where subsequently cited in later articles; also includes book reviews.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

 
[top]
 

created by Gabbi Zaldin
Updated by Lisa Sherlock, April 2006