Resources in Philosophy


Electronic items marked are licensed for use by members of the University of Toronto community; use by others may be restricted. Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
 
General Reference Works
B 41 .B53 2005 Reference
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. Simon Blackburn. Oxford; New York: OUP, 1994. [online version, 2nd ed., 2005]


B 41 .B79 2004 Reference
The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy.
Nicholas Bunnin and Jiyuan Yu.
Blackwell Pub., 2004.


B 41 .C35 1999 Reference

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. Robert Audi. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge UP, 1999.

B 41 .D46 2006 Reference
The Dictionary of Continental Philosophy. Ed. John Potevi. New Haven : Yale University Press, 2006.

B41 .H88 1995 Reference
Hutchinson Dictionary of Ideas.
Ed. Anne-Lucie Norton.

B51 .E53 2006 Reference
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy
10-Volume Set.  Gale Publishing.
Comprehensive and containing wide-ranging philosophical subjects compiled by a 21-member board of scholars headed by Donald Borchert (Ohio University).


B 51 .O94 2005 2nd Ed. Reference

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy. Ed. Ted Honderich. Oxford; New York: OUP. 2nd ed.2005 available online
Dictionary style entries for concepts and brief biographies. Good for Quick reference. appendices: Logical symbols; Maps of philosophy; Chronological table of philosophy.

B 51 .R68 1998 Reference 1-10
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Ed. Edward Craig. London; New York:
Routledge, 1998. [online version, 2000]
The largest English-language encyclopedia of philosophy. Broader in scope than the Encyclopedia of Philosophy (above). Covers more comprehensively areas not previously considered as part of the Anglo-American academic mainstream (e.g., feminism, Asian philosophy, Islamic philosophy). Entries include concepts, themes, and thinkers within various philosophical traditions and bibliographies. Vol. 10 provides an index for access.

B111 .P74 2007 Reference
Preus, Anthony. Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy.

B791 .B765 2003 Reference
Bunge, Mario. Philosophical Dictionary.

B792 .G6513 2004 Stacks

Gombrowicz, Witold. A Guide to Philosophy in Six Hours and fifteen Minutes. Introduction to Kant, Hegel, Schopenhauer, Kierkegaard, Sartre, Heidegger and Marx.

B801 .C345C2006 Stacks
Rutherford, Donald.The Cambridge Companion to Early Modern Philosophy.

B804 .C55 2007 Reference
Boundas, Constantin V. The Columbia Companion to Twentieth-century Philosophies.

B804 .L32 2008 Reference

Lechte, John. Fifty Key Contemporary Thinkers: From Structuralism to Post-humanism.

B850 . A43 2008
Reference
American Philosophy: an Encyclopedia. John Lachs, Robert Talisse, Editors.

BC 177 .B19 2003 Stacks
Baggini, Julian & Peter S. Fosl. The Philosopher's Toolkit.
A textbook on basic philosophical methods and critical thinking. Sections include: Basic Tools for Argument; Tools for Assessment; Tools for Conceptual Distinctions; and Tools for Radical Critique. A detailed contents section and index provide access.

CB 5 .D52 Reference 1-5
Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas. Ed. Philip P. Wiener. New York: Scribner, 1973-74.
Covers selective ideas from a wide range of topics, concentrating on the history of these ideas and "tracing the cultural roots and historical ramifications of the major and minor specialized concerns of the mind" (from the preface).

The Ism Book, an online dictionary of philosophy.                                                                                                                                                                  [top]


Branches of Philosophy

B 121 .E53 2001 Reference
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy. Ed. Oliver Leaman. London; New York: Routledge, 2001.
Provides introductions to the many branches, themes, problems and concepts in Asian philosophy. A name and subject index provide access. All entries are signed with brief bibliographies. (Also see Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy - B 121 .C66 1997 Reference).

B 126 .E496 2003 Reference
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy. Ed. Antonio S. Cua. New York: Routledge, 2003.
Provides entries that discuss major periods, thinkers and central concepts and problems in Chinese philosophy. Extensive treatment of the history of Confucianism from the classical period through to the 20th century. All articles contain bibliographies.

B 163 .E53 1997 Reference
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. Ed. Donald J. Zeyl. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.
Reference work in the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity. Of particular use in that its bibliographies provide resources for relatively obscure thinkers and concepts that may otherwise be hard to find. Includes a chronological outline of classical philosophy and an index.

B638 .C48 2005 Stacks
Gnostic Philosophy: from Ancient Persia to Modern Times. Tobias Churton.

B791 .E34 1999 Reference
Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy. Ed. Simon Glendinning. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999.
This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive overview of central movements, authors, and themes that comprise continental philosophy. Introductory essays are followed by essays on the major ideas, themes and authors within these traditions. Sections include: Classical idealism; Philosophy of existence; Philosophies of life and understanding; Phenomenology; Politics, psychoanalysis and science; Frankfurt school and critical theory; Structuralism; and Post-Structuralism.

B791 .H57 2010 Reference vols. 1-8
History of Continental Philosophy. GeneralEditor Alan D. Schrift.

First comprehensive history of the continental tradition of philosophy divided chronologically and thematically, into eight volumes.

B 802 .E47 2003 Reference vols. 1-4
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. Ed. Alan Charles Kors. New York: OUP, 2003.
Coveris all aspects of culture, politics, science and philosophy from 1670 to the early 1800s in nearly 700 entries, this encyclopedia offers a good introduction to, and reference source for, enlightenment thought. Major philosophical areas of the period are covered. All entries are signed and contain bibliographies. An extensive index provides excellent subject access.

B804 .C55 2007 Reference
Columbia Companion to Twentieth-Century Philosophies
. Ed. Constantin V. Boundas.
Cover both the Anglo-American analytic and European continental traditions.


B 804 .H17 1988 Reference

The Handbook of Western Philosophy. Ed. G.H.R. Parkinson. New York: Macmillan, 1998.
This handbook provides surveys of issues within the Anglo-Saxon philosophical tradition through essays that are arranged thematically in sections. Beyond providing overviews of major themes, this handbook attempts to illustrate connections between various philosophical issues. Major sections address: Meaning and Truth; Theory of Knowledge; Metaphysics; Philosophy of Mind; Moral Philosophy; and Society, Art and Religion. Each essay contains a bibliography. A glossary of philosophical terms, a chronological survey of enlightenment and modern philosophy, and an index are provided.

B804 .R68 2008 Stacks
Moran, Dermot. Routledge Companion to Twentieth Century Philosophy.


B819 .M53 2008 Reference
Michelman, Stephen. Historical Dictionary of Existentialism.

B829.5 .C46 2006 Stacks
Cerbone, David R. Understanding Phenomenology.

BD 111 .H225 1991 Reference 1-2

Handbook of Metaphysics and Ontology. Ed. Hans Burkhardt & Barry Smith. Munich; Philadelphia: Philosophia Verlag, 1991.
Provides overviews of the most important theories, thinkers, ideas and concepts in metaphysics and ontology. Entries vary substantially in length, are signed, and contain bibliographies.

B1111 .C66 2006 Reference 1-4
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Philosophy
. Ed. A. C. Grayling.

BD 161 .O96 2002 Stacks

The Oxford Handbook of Epistemology
. Ed. Paul K. Moser. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Essays spanning the whole field of epistemology, presenting current research and theory in the area by leading thinkers, as well as an introductory chapter giving an overview to the area. Each essay has extensive references for further reading.

BD418.3 .B72 2007 2nd Stacks
The Philosophy of Mind and Cognition: An Introduction. Eds. David Braddon-Mitchell and frank Mitchell.

BH 56 .E53 1998 Reference 1-4
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Ed. Michael Kelly. New York: OUP, 1998.
The largest English-language work devoted to aesthetics. Covers individuals, concepts, periods, theories, issues and movements in the history of aesthetics from most ancient up to the present through more than 600 essays. All entries signed and contain bibliographies. The work is indexed.

BH 56 .O94 2003 Stacks
The Oxford Handbook of Aesthetics
. Ed. Jerrold Levinson. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Forty-eight essays giving a comprehensive guide to the theory, application, history, and future of the field. Extensive reference list provide further reading.

BJ 63 .D45 1996 Reference
Dictionary of Ethics, Theology and Society.
Ed. Paul Barry Clarke & Andrew Linzey. London; New York: Routledge, 1996.
This interdisciplinary work provides entries that map out the major ethical, theological and political influences that form 'Western society', taking as its starting point that "Western society continues to be deeply indebted to the Judeo-Christian tradition and its synthesis with political and social thought" (from the introduction). The index provides subject access for terms not constituting entries unto themselves.

BJ 63 .E46 1999 Reference
Encyclopedia of Ethics. Ed. Susan Neiburg Terkel. New York: Facts on File, 1999.
Intended for quick reference, this work operates as a dictionary-like, general introduction to ethics that clarifies terms and movements common to the field. Entries are cross-referenced.

P 106 .C5946 1997 Reference
Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language. Ed. Peter V. Lamarque. Kidlington, Oxford; New York: Pergamon, 1997.
This encyclopedia deals with issues in the philosophy of language, as well as issues from linguistics (mostly empirical studies) that may pertain to the philosophy of language. Entries are arranged thematically in sectionsincluding: Language, Metaphysics and Ontology; Language and Mind; Truth and Meaning; Reference; Language and Logic; Formal Sematics; Pragmatics and Speech Act Theory; and major 19th and 20th century thinkers. An index provides access.

QA 9 .D474 1999 Reference
Logic from A to Z. Michael Detlefsen, David Charles McCarty & John B. Bacon. London; New York : Routledge, 1999.
A glossary of terms used in formal logic and the philosophy of mathematics to assist people in mastering this complex area of philosophy. Contains a table of logical symbols.

QH 332 .E52 1995 Reference 1-5
Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ed. Warren Thomas Reich. New York: Simon & Schuster Macmillan; London: Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1995.
                                                                                                                  
[top]

Blackwell Companions to Philosophy

All Blackwell Companions to Philosophy are published Oxford; Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell.

B 21 .B65 2003 Reference
The Blackwell Companion to Philosophy. Ed. Nicholas Bunnin.

B 121 .C664 1997 Stacks
A Companion to World Philosophies. Ed. Eliot Deutsch.

B 803 .C66 1998 Reference
A Companion to Continental Philosophy. Ed. Simon Critchley.

B 808.5 .C555 2001 Stacks
A Companion to Analytic Philosophy. Ed. Alysius Martinich.

BC 71 .C65 2002 Reference
A Companion to Philosophical Logic. Ed. Dale Jacquette.

BD 111 .C626 1995 Reference
A Companion to Metaphysics. Ed. Jaegwon Kim.

BD 161 .C637 1992 Reference
A Companion to Epistemology. Ed. Johathan Dancy and Ernest Sosa.

BD 418.3 .C62 1994 Reference
A Companion to the Philosophy of Mind. Ed. Samuel D. Guttenplan.

BH 56 .C65 1992 Reference
A Companion to Aesthetics. Ed. Berys Gaut and Dominic McIver Lopes.

BJ 1012 C62 1991 Reference
A Companion to Ethics. Ed. Peter Singer.

BL 51 .C634 1997 Reference
A Companion to Philosophy of Religion. Ed. Philip L. Quinn.

GE 40 .C66 2001 Stacks
A Companion to Environmental Philosophy. Ed. Dale Jamieson.

HQ 1190 .C665 1998 Stacks
A Companion to Feminist Philosophy. Ed. Alison Jaggar.

JA 71 .C565 1993 Reference
A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy. Ed. Robert E. Goodin.

[top]

 
Electronic Indexes

The Philosopher's Index. 1940 + [Web]
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. The index thesaurus is available at Z 7127 .P47 P465 1998 Reference.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy {Pratt & Emmanuel only}
A comprehensive resource. Articles from all continents, all periods and cultures. This is the electronic version of the highly-regarded print encyclopedia published in 1998. Articles cover, amongst others, Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Quarterly updates and additions.

ATLA Religion Database. 1949 + [Web]
Covers such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues. The Database contains over one million records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations.

Iter. Selective from 1859 + [Web]
Covers periodical literature dealing with the the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984 + [Web]
Provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing of 400 English-language periodicals covering the areas of archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.

Left Index. 1682 + [Web]
Provides access to literature on the political left, including political, economic, social, and cultural issues. Topics covered include the labour movement, race, social and cultural theory, art and aesthetics, globalization and philosophy.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index. 1975 + [Web]
A multidisciplinary database covering numerous topics, including philosophy, within the humanities. Of particular use is the ability to search for articles that have cited a particular and/or known article. This index defaults to searching three databases concurrently (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences), and users are encouraged to only search the required database to eliminate numerous false hits.

Francis. 1984 + [Web]
Another multidisciplinary database that covers literature in the humanities and social sciences. After 'LOGON', the default database is RLG Union Catalogue. To switch to Francis, select it from the options on the right side of the screen.

JSTOR. [Web]
A full-text database that includes 17 philosophy journals. Coverage of journals generally runs from first issue, although most current issues are not generally available or indexed.

[top]

 
Philosophy on the WWW

Department of Philosophy, University of Toronto

Episteme Links: Philosophy Resources on the Internet [Gateway]

Philosophy in Cyberspace [Gateway]

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet [Gateway]

Philosophy Pages
An extensive site that covers the Western philosophical tradition. Includes: Dictionary of Philosophical Names and Terms; survey of the History of Western Philosophy; Timelines for intellectual figures; Summary treatment of elementary principles of logic; and a generic study guide for students.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Essay-length articles on various aspects, themes and figures in philosophy. Articles written by philosophers who have published refereed articles on their respective topics.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

[top]

updated November 2008 by Gabbi Zaldin
created by Adam Taves