Resources in Mystery and Detective Fiction

Electronic items marked are licensed for use by members of the University of Toronto community; use by others may be restricted. Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
 
See Resources in English Literature.
 
General Resources


HV6017 .S54 2003 (Vic Ref)
Sifakis, Carl. The Dictionary of Crime Terms

P96 .D4 C66 1990 (Vic Ref and Robarts Stacks)
Conquest, John. Trouble Is their Business: Private Eyes in Fiction, Film and Television.
PN3448 .D4 C75 2008
Rollyson, Carl ed. Critical Survey of Mystery and Detective Fiction.5vols.
Contains articles about individual authors of mystery and detective fiction and a glossary. In addition there are overview essays and several appendixes

P96 .D4 E5 1984 (Robarts Stacks and Trinity Ref)
Encyclopedia of Mystery & Detection. Eds. Chris Steinbrunner & Otto Penzler.

PN3448 .D4 B4713 1980 (Robarts Stacks)
Benvenuti, Stefano and Gianni Rizzoni. Whodunit: An Informal History of Detective Fiction. Translated by Anthony Eyre

PN3448 .D4 D3 (Robarts Stacks)
Penzler, Otto, et al. Detectionary: A Biographical Dictionary of Leading Characters in Detective and Mystery Fiction, including famous and little-known sleuths, their helpers, rogues both heroic and sinister, and some of their most memorable adventures, as recounted in novels, short stories, and films.

PN3448 .D4 E2 (Vic Stacks)
Eames, Hugh. Sleuths, Inc.: Studies of Problem Solvers, Doyle, Simenon, Hammett, Ambler, Chandler.

PN3448 .D4 M87 1999 (Robarts Ref)
Murphy, Bruce. Encyclopedia of Murder and Mystery.

PN3448 .D4 P54 1983
Most, Glenn, W. The Poetics of Murder: Detective Fiction and Literary Theory.

PN3448 .D4 R66 1995 (Robarts Stacks)
Roth, Marty. Foul & Fair Play: Reading Genre in Classic Detective Fiction.

PN3448 .D4 S87 1992
Symons, Julian. Bloody Murder: From the Detective Story to the Crime Novel.

PR85 .R42 1996 (Vic Ref)
Reader's Guide to Literature in English. Ed. Mark Hawkins-Dady.

PR830 .D4 M45 1996 (Robarts Stacks)
Melling, John Kennedy. Murder Done to Death: Parody and Pastiche in Detective Fiction.

PR 830 .C47 D5 1993 (Vic Ref)
Dictionary of British Literary Characters. Ed. John R. Greenfield.

PR830 .D4 K58 1995
Klein, Kathleen Gregory. The Woman Detective Gender & Genre.

PR830 .D43 M97 1998 (Vic Ref)
Mystery & Suspense Writers: the Literature of Crime Detection and Espionage. Eds. Robin W. Winks and M. Corrigan.

PR888 .D4 S24 1996 (Vic Ref)
St. James Guide to Crime and Mystery Writers. Eds. Jay P. Pederson and Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf.

PS374 .D4 B3 1985 (St. Mikes and Robarts Stacks)
Baker Robert A. & Michael T. Nietzel. Private Eyes: One Hundred and One Knights-A Survey of American Detective Fiction.

PS374 .D4 B56 1990 (Vic Stacks)
Binyon, T. J. Murder Will Out: The Detective in Fiction.

PS374.D4 C59 2001
Collins, Max Allan. History of Mystery.

PS374 .D4 H375 2002 (Vic Ref)
Hardboiled Mystery Writers: Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett, Ross McDonald: A Literary Reference
. Eds. Matthew J. Bruccoli and Richard Layman.

Z1231 .D47 S57 1985 (Robarts Stacks)
Skinner, Robert B. Hard-Boiled Explicator: A Guide to the Study of Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler and Ross Macdonald.

Z2014 .F4 H8 (Vic Ref)
Hubin, Allen J. Crime Fiction IV, a Comprehensive Bibliography 1749-2000.

Z2014 .F4 M24 1991 (Robarts Stacks)
Mackler Tasha. Murder ... by category: A Subject Guide to Mystery Fiction.

Z5917 .D5 B59 2004 (Vic Ref)
Bleiler, Richard. Reference and Research Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction.

Z5917 .D5 N54 2003 (Vic Ref)
Niebuht, Gary Warren. Make Mine a Mystery: a Reader's Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction.

[top]

Criticism & Reviews Online


MLA International Bibliography (available via U of T Library page) This database indexes sources on literature, linguistics and drama from 1963 to present.

ABELL
(Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature).

Humanities Abstracts, Reader's Guide Abstracts and Essay & General Literature Index will provide citations to literary criticism articles and book chapters.

Literature Resource Center
provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

PCI (Periodicals Contents Index) includes citations and selected full-text from critical articles as well as book and performance review in humanities and social sciences journals from 1770 to 1993. This is the only electronic resource available that indexes back to the 1770s.

Book Review Digest
provides citations and excerpts from reviews in approximately 90 popular journals from 1983 to present in the electronic version. Available online at the Pratt Library only. The paper version has excerpts from complete reviews for fiction and nonfiction many disciplines starting from 1905 (Z1219 .B64 Pratt Storage and Z1219 .B6 Trinity Stacks).

Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index are part of the Web of Knowledge, an online database indexing resources in all areas. It includes citations of critical articles on popular culture, film and television. The online versions go back to 1982.

[top]
Electronic Reference


Literature Resource Centre
contains Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 100,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on authors; and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars.

Twayne's Author Series contains criticism by scholars on hundreds of years of literature. Lengthy treatment of authors.
                                                                                                               
[top]  

Electronic Books
84 titles by Edgar Allan Poe
Classic Mystery Writers / Bloom, Harold
25 titles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Classic Crime and Suspense Writers / Bloom, Harold
The Moonstone / Collins, Wilkie Detective Fiction: Notes / David, Allen L.
The Lock and Key Library: Classic Mystery and Detective Stories, Old Time English / Hawthorne, Julian

[top]

Useful Websites


Contento, William G. Mystery Short Fiction: 1990-1998. An Index to Mystery Magazines, Anthologies, and Single-Author Collections. "The goal is to list all mystery short fiction published in English since 1990."

Grost, Michael E. A Guide to Classic Mystery and Detection. "(A)n educational site containing reading lists and essays on great mysteries mainly of the pre 1960 era."

[top]

 

compiled by Gabbi Zaldin
updated November 2005.