Modern Drama at Pratt -- Selected Sources

 

Selected Playwrights
Edward Albee | Samuel Beckett | Bertolt Brecht | David Mamet | Arthur Miller | Eugene O'Neill | Harold Pinter |
Tom Stoppard | Judith Thompson | Tennessee Williams | August Wilson

 
Electronic items marked are licensed for use by members of the University of Toronto community; use by others may be restricted. Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
 
Encyclopedias and other General Reference Resources
 

PN6112.5 .M37 2004 Reference (4 vols.) Rev. ed
Magill, Frank Northen. Masterplots II. Drama Series. .
(Also available Online in MagillOnLiterature at the EJ Pratt Library only)
Covers plays from around the world. Articles arranged alphabetically by play title include a plot summary, character list, critical materia. 148 playwrights from around the world are represented.


PN41 .H6 2003 Reference
Harmon, William. A Handbook to Literature.


PN1625 .N68 2005 Reference
Rollyson, Carl E., ed. Notable Playwrights.
Biographical sketches and critical studies of 106 of the most important playwrights from Classical times to the present.

PN1625 .C68 2003 (8 vols.) Reference
Rollyson, Carl E., ed. Critical Survey of Drama. 2nd rev. ed.
Comprehensive resource for dramatic biographical reference and analysis.

PN1625 .P378 2005 Reference
Patterson, Michael. The Oxford Dictionary of Plays.
Plays are arranged in A-Z order. a list of plays organized by country of origin and period; an index of playwrights; and an index of characters.

PN1661 .C65 2007
Cody Gabrielle H. and Evert Sprinchorn eds.The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama.
Places playwrights and plays within their social, cultural, and historical contexts. Covers the development of modern theater in Western Europe and Eastern Europe; in Russia, China, Japan, India, and all of Southeast Asia; in Australia and New Zealand; in the United States and Canada; in Latin America, Africa; and in the Yiddish language.

PN1721 .W47 2007 vol. 1-2
King, Kimball, Ed. Western Drama through the Ages: A Student Reference Guide.

PN2035 .G73 2003 Reference
Griffiths, Trevor R. The Ivan R. Dee Guide to Plays and Playwrights.
Covers plays and playwrights from ancient times to the present, with biographical information and cross- references to other plays or authors who have covered comparable subjects.

PN2035 .O94 2003 Reference (2 vols.)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance. Ed. Dennis Kennedy
International reference source that includes entries on theatre, opera, film radio, dance, circuses rituals and more.

PN2035 .P2913 1998 Reference
Pavis, Patrice. Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis.

PN2101 .B68 2008 10th Ed. Stacks
Brockett, Oscar G. History of the Theatre.

PN2101 .W54 2008
Wilson, Edwin and Alvin Goldfarb, Eds. Living Theatre: History of the Theatre.

PN2635 .D53 2005 Reference
Guérin, Jeanyves. Dictionnaire des Pièces de Théâtre Françaises du XXe Siècle.
                                                                                                                                                                                             [top]

Bibliographies and Print Indexes to World Drama
 

PN 1625 .M3 1984 Vols. 1-5 Reference
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama.
2nd ed. Ed. Stanley Hochman. New York: McGraw-Hill.


Z5781 .B8 Reference

Dramatic Criticism Index: A Bibliography of Commentaries on Playwrights from Ibsen to the Avant-garde. Eds. by Paul F. Breed and Florence M. Sniderman.
This source indexes playwrights whose work was performed in the 20th century.

Z5781 .C372 1991 Reference
Carpenter, Charles A. Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1981-1990: An International Bibliography.
International criticism on modern and contemporary playwrights. Books and articles arranged by geographic area. Includes criticism and interviews.

Z5781 .C37 1986 Reference
Carpenter, Charles A. Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1966-1980: An International Bibliography.
                                           AND
Z5781 .C372 1997 Reference
Carpenter, Charles A. Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1981-1990: An International Bibliography.

Z5781 .O8 1988 Reference

Ottemiller, John H. Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published between 1900 and 1985.

Z5781 .P53 Reference
West, Dorothy Herbert. Play Index.
Pratt has: 1949-52 - 1993-97; 1998-2002.

                                                                                                                                                                                                  [top]

See Resources in English Literature a subject bibliography on the EJ Pratt Library page.

See Essay Writing & Research Guides at E.J. Pratt Library

 
British and Irish Drama
 

PR739 .P64 P38 2003 Stacks
Patterson, Michael. Strategies of Political Theatre: Post-war British Playwrights.
Analyses a group of  twentieth century British playwrights and their strategies for persuading audiences of the need for radical restructuring of society.

PR736 .B68 2001 Reference
Bull, John (John Stanley). British and Irish Dramatists since World War II. Second series.

PR739 .F45 C36 2000 Stacks
Aston, Elaine. The Cambridge Companion to Modern British Women Playwrights.
Women playwrights in Britain throughout the twentieth century including the historical and theatrical contexts in which they wrote.

PR736 .B75 1996 Reference
Demastes, William W. British Playwrights, 1956-1995: A Research and Production Sourcebook.
Selected British playwrights active from 1956 to 1995, with biographical, theatrical, critical, and bibliographical information.

PR736 .C576 2008 Stacks
Holdsworth, Nadine and Mary Lckhurst, Ed. A Concise Companion to Contemporary British and Irish Drama.
"Investigates key issues in British and Irish theatre since 1979. Covering topics from globalisation, genocide and terrorism to the use of new technologies, and physical and verbatim theatre practices, this volume illustrates the extraordinary diversity of contemporary drama and performance." from Blackwell Publishing.

PR736 .I5 1991
Stacks

Innes, C. D. Modern British Drama, 1890-1990.
Evolution of modernism from the end of the 19th century to the present. Discusses all major dramatists and 200+ plays with
their social and political contexts; comprehensive chronology.

PR8789 .C28 2004 Stacks
Richards, Shaun.The Cambridge Companion to Twentieth-century Irish Drama.
Individual playwrights, from late 19th century melodramas to contemporary Dublin theatre festivals.

PR8789 .I67 1997 Reference

Schrank, Bernice. Irish Playwrights, 1880-1995: A Research and Production Sourcebook.

details for 32 Irish playwrights active from 1880 to 1995.

 

PR8789 .R62 1995 Stacks

Roche, Anthony. Contemporary Irish drama : from Beckett to McGuinness.

Survey of English-language Irish drama from the 50s to the early 90s.

[top]
American Drama
 

PS350 .C655 2005 Stacks
Krasner, David. A Companion toTwentieth-century American Drama.
Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller, and Eugene O'Neill, and previously lesser-known playwrights.  

PS338 .F35 W35 2003 Stacks

Wakefield , Thaddeus. The Family in Twentieth-century American Drama.

Studies the portrayal of the family in 20th century American drama, specifically its consumerism within the capitalistic culture of consumption.

 

PS351 .T9 v.1 1 Book Reference

PS351 .T9 v.2
Twentieth-century American Dramatists.

MacNicholas, John, 1943-

 

PS350 .T94 2000 Reference

Wheatley, Christopher J. Twentieth-century American Dramatists. Second series.

PS350 .B54 2000 Stacks

Bigsby, C. W. E. Modern American Drama, 1945-2000.

Surveys of major playwrights including Eugene O'Neill, Tennessee Williams, David Mamet, and Sam Shepard, and explores recent works by established dramatists.

 

PS352 .B54 1999 Stacks

Bigsby, C. W. E. Contemporary American Playwrights.

Dramatists: John Guare, Tina Howe, Tony Kushner, Emily Mann, Richard Nelson, Marsha Norman, David Rabe, Paula Vogel, Wendy Wasserstein, and Lanford Wilson.

 

PS338 .M46 M33 1997 Stacks

McDonough, Carla J. Staging Masculinity: Male Identity in Contemporary American Drama.

Studies of four contemporary playwrights -- Arthur Miller, Sam Shepard, Eugene O'Neill, David Mamet, and August Wilson -- especially issues of manhood from a post-modern perspective.

 

PS338 .W6 H34 1993 Stacks

Hall, Ann C. "A Kind of Alaska": Women in the Plays of O'Neill, Pinter, and Shepard.

Covers the treatment of character by the three dramatists.

 

PS 338 .R42M87 1987 Stacks

Murphy, Brenda. American Realism and American Drama, 1880-1940

Native American realism is traced through a study of the evolution of dramatic theory from the early 1890s.

[top]

Canadian Drama

PR9196.35 D57 2003/05 Reference
Directory of Canadian Plays & Playwrights. Playwrights Guild of Canada .

Z1377 .D7 C36 1997 Reference

Canadian Plays Catalogue, 1997-1998

Spine Title: Catalogue of Canadian plays, 1997-1998, and, Who's who in the Playwrights Union of Canada, 1997-1999

 

PN2039 .T537 2006 Stacks

Grace, Sherrill E. Theatre and Autobiography: Writing and Performing Lives in Theory and Practice.

Examines works by female Canadian playwrights, including Linda Griffiths, Sharon Pollock,Wendy Lill, Michel Tremblay, Betty Lambert and others.

 

PR9191.5 .W34 2001 Stacks

Walker, Craig Stewart. The Buried Astrolabe: Canadian Dramatic Imagination and Western Tradition.

Introduction to contemporary Canadian dramatists (James Reaney, Michael Cook, Sharon Pollock, Michel Tremblay, George F. Walker, Judith Thompson).

 

PR9191.5 .K56 1999 Stacks

Knowles, Richard. The Theatre of Form and the Production of Meaning: Contemporary Canadian Dramaturgies.

 

Z1377 .D7 B352 1993 Reference

Ball, John L. Bibliography of Theatre History in Canada : The Beginnings through 1984 = Bibliographie d'histoire du théâtre au Canada: des débuts - fin 1984.

[top]

Spanish and Latin American Drama

 

Z2694 .D7 H17 2000 Reference
Harvell, Tony A. Index to Twentieth-century Spanish Plays in Collections, Anthologies, and Periodicals.
Author, source, and title indexes contain lists of plays by Galician, Catalan, and Basque writers, as well as those writing in Castilian Spanish.

PQ6051 .M53 2002 Reference

Parker, Mary. Modern Spanish Dramatists: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook.

Entries for 33 Spanish dramatists, from the eighteenth century to the present.

 

PQ7082 .D7 H37 2003 Reference

Harvell, Tony A. Latin American Dramatists since 1945: A Bio-bibliographical Guide.

Over 700 dramatists in 20 countries who have written most of their work since 1950, arranged by country.

 

PQ7082 .D7 E63 2003 Reference

Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater. Cortés, Eladio, ed.

Covers the pre-Columbian period to the present.

[top]

German Drama
 

PT1258 .D68 1996 Reference
Weber, Carl. Drama Contemporary: Germany
German drama in the years immediately preceding and just after the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989.PT666 .T87 1992 Reference

PT666 .T86 1992 Reference

Elfe, Wolfgang. Twentieth-century German Dramatists, 1919-1992.
Bertolt Brecht, Hermann Broch, Elias Canetti, Friedrich Durrenmatt, Rolf Hochhuth, Franz Werfel, Peter Handke, Oskar Kokoschka, Robert Musil, Ernst Toller, Peter Weiss, Gunter Grass, Max Frisch, etc.

                                                                                                                                         

[top]
Selected Playwrights

Edward Albee (U.S.)

PS3501 .L178 Z586 2005
Bottoms, Stephen J. The Cambridge Companion to Edward Albee.
Essays on Albee including The Goat, or Who is Sylvia? (2002) and an interview with Mr. Albee.

PS3501 .L178 Z655 2003 (Also available online)
Mann, Bruce J. Edward Albee: A Casebook.
Analysis of Albee's plays, including All Over, The Lady from Dubuque, and Malcolm, as well as his more well known works; a retrospective of his career; and an interview with Albee from 1999.

PS3501 .L178 Z684 1999
Gussow, Mel. Edward Albee: A Singular Journey: A Biography.
Biography of the three-time Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright (Seascape, A Delicate Balance, The Zoo Story), who, in the 1960s went on to write Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf.
                                                                                                                                                                                             [top]
Samuel Beckett (Irish)

PQ2603 .E378 E648 2005
Hutchings, William. Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot: A Reference Guide.
Descriptions of the texts and various editions available. Discussion of the play's intellectual content, its meaning, its dramatic art and a history of its performance.

PR6003 .E282 Z5625 2004
Ackerley, Chris. The Grove Companion to Samuel Beckett: A Reader's Guide to his Works, Life, and Thought.
A comprehensive guide to the concepts, characters, and biographical details mentioned by, or related to Samuel Beckett.

PR6003 .E282 Z495 1998
Beckett, Samuel. No Author Better Served: TheCorrespondence of Samuel Beckett & Alan Schneider.
Describes the thirty-year working relationship between the playwright and his principal director in the United States. 
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     [top]
Bertolt Brecht (German)

PT2603 .R397 Z8996 2004
White, John. Bertolt Brecht's Dramatic Theory.
Brecht's contribution to the theory of acting and audience response is examined, and each theoretical essay and concept is placed in the context of the aesthetic debates of the time, subjected to a critical assessment, and considered in light of subsequent scholarly thinking.

PT2603 .R397 Z61928 1994
Fuegi, John. Brecht and Company: Sex,Politics, and theMaking of the Modern Drama.
This first full biography of the Brecht circle confirms Brecht's rank as a world-class theatre director, but reveals that he regularly cheated his closest co-workers and lovers, publishing their literary works under his own name.                                                                                                                                                                       
David Mamet (U.S.)

PS3563 .A4345 Z59 2004
Bigsby, C. W. E. The Cambridge Companion to David Mamet. Essays include decade-by decade assessments of Mamet's work in the 1970s through the 1990s, reviews of American Buffalo, Glengarry Glen Ross and Oleanna, and descriptions of Mamet's impact on actors, directors, and film.

PS3563 .A4345 Z877 2003
Sauer, David K. David Mamet: A Research and Production Sourcebook.
This reference guide examines Mamet's life and career, a chronology, a primary bibliography, and interviews This is followed by a collection of summaries, reviews, and scholarly criticisms of each play.
                                                                                                                                                      
Arthur Miller (U.S.)

PS3525 .I5156 Z5445 2005
Bigsby, C. W. E. Arthur Miller: ACritical Study.
Discusses all of Arthur Miller's output, including plays, poetry, fiction and films. Analyzes the influence of events of the 20th and 21st centuries on Miller's works.

PS3525 .I5156 Z657 2003
Gottfried, Martin. Arthur Miller: His Life and Work.
Gottfried analyzes all Miller's plays, Death of a Salesman, The Crucible, and All My Sons, to rebut adverse comments made about them.

PS3525 .I5156 A6 2000
Miller, Arthur. Echoes Down the Corridor: Collected Essays, 1944-2000.
More than forty previously uncollected articles and essays.
                                                                                                                                                                                     [top]
Eugene O'Neill (U.S.)

PS3529 .N5 Z5676 1999
Black, Stephen A. Eugene O'Neill: Beyond Mourning and Tragedy.
Eugene O'Neill's life, from a troubled childhood and adolescence until he came out of his obsession with grief and loss that had permeated his life and his writings.

PS3529 .N5 Z575 1998
Manheim, Michael. The Cambridge Companion to Eugene O'Neill.
Studies O'Neill's life and how he related to the theatrical world of his creative period, 1916-1942. Includes descriptions of the O'Neill canon and its production history on stage and screen.
                                                                                                                                                     
Harold Pinter (British)

PR6066 .I53 Z74 2005
Smith, Ian. Pinter in the Theatre.
Interviews and conversations with fellow dramatists, nine actors and directors who have worked with Pinter in the theatre.

PR6066 .I53 Z6255 2001
Raby, Peter. The Cambridge Companion to Harold Pinter.
Deals with the full scope of Pinter's work. Includes photographs from key productions.

PR6066 .I53 Z623 1996
Billington, Michael. The Life and Work of Harold Pinter.
Biography examining Pinter's work, including The Caretaker and The Homecoming, in the context of his life. Conversations with Pinter and interviews with his friends and colleagues were used for this book.
                                                                                                                                                                                           [top]
Tom Stoppard (British)

PR6069 .T6 Z615 2001
Kelly, Katherine E. The Cambridge Companion to Tom Stoppard.
Essays address all of Stoppard's major work, including the recent plays, Arcadia and Invention of Love. Photographs from key productions, a biography and a chronology.

PR6069 .T6 Z648 2001
Fleming, John. Stoppard's Theatre: Finding Order amid Chaos.
Arcadia, Indian Ink, and The Invention of Love are studied in this book; the revised versions of Travesties and Hapgood , as well as at four other major plays ( Rosencrantz, Jumpers, Night and Day, and The Real Thing).

Judith Thompson (Canadian)

PR9199.3 .T588 Z76 2006
Knowles, Richard Paul. The masks of Judith Thompson.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  [top]
Tennessee Williams (U.S.)

PS3545 .I5365 Z459 2004 Reference
Kolin, Philip C. The Tennessee Williams Encyclopedia.
Examination of Williams' life and caree,. as well as critical commentary on Williams's plots, sources, symbols, characters, sets, and ideas. A detailed chronology lists Williams's accomplishments.

PS3545 .I5365 Z614 1997
Roudané, Matthew Charles. The Cambridge Companion to Tennessee Williams.
Essays on Williams' works from his apprenticeship years to his major plays (The Glass Menagerie, Streetcar Named Desire, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof) through to his last play before his death in 1983.

PS3545 .I5365 Z615 1997
Martin, Robert A. Critical Essays on Tennessee Williams.
36 reviews and articles. Essays on the revision of Camino Real; psychological aspects of The Glass Menagerie and The Two Character Play; the use of monologues and mirrors in Sweet Bird of Youth, etc.                                                           
                                                                                                                                                                                             [top

August Wilson
(U.S.)

PS3515 .E343 Z58 2003
Booker, Margaret. Lillian Hellman and August Wilson: Dramatizing a New American Identity.
Examines the work of playwrights Lillian Hellman and August Wilson, both of whom "rewrite history to reflect their political activism while espousing a shared value system that demands recognition of women and African Americans as valuable citizens of American society."

PS3573 .I45677 Z56 1994
Elkins, Marilyn Roberson, ed. August Wilson: A Casebook.
Wilson, the only African American playwright to win the Pulitzer Prize twice. This work describes his use of the South and the black human body as metaphors; his collaboration with director Lloyd Richards; the influence of the blues, Baraka, Bearden, Borges, and Fugard on his work; his creativity; and his treatment of African American family life.

[top]
Online Resources
 

Records of Early English Drama (REED)

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)

JSTOR
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.

Poole's Plus (part of 19th century Masterfile)
The electronic version of a standard reference index to the published books, periodicals, newspapers and government documents of the 19th century, covering 3.7 million records.

North American Theatre Online
This is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre.

North American Women's Drama

Twentieth Century North American Drama
Contains 1,122 plays by 170 playwrights, along with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

[top]



 
 

Compiled by James
Updated by Gabbi Zaldin April 2008