|
|
Resources
in English Literature
|
|
| |
NB Electronic
items marked are licensed
for use by members of the University of Toronto community: use by
others may be restricted.|
Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
|
| |
|
This
list is highly selective. For more subject-specific, genre-specific,
title-specific, or author-specific resources, see a staff member
at the reference desk for assistance. In many cases, reference works
with similar topics are shelved in the same area and this list can
be used as a guide to orient yourself to the arrangement of English
literature reference sources in the collection. Moreover, several
reference works will often exist for a particular topic (e.g., American
literature) where only one is listed here. |
| |
|
See English
Literature e-Resources Research Guide.
See How
Do I... for further help with library research.
|
| |
| Guides
to Reference Sources |
| |
|
PR
56 .B34 2000 Reference
Baker, Nancy L. & Nancy Huling. A Research Guide for Undergraduate
Students: English and American Literature.
5th ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America.
A guide to introduce undergraduate English literature students to
library research. Explains the use of various library tools, including
indexes, dictionaries, bibliographies, concordances, and literary
encyclopedias.
PR
56 .M37 1990 Reference
Marcuse, Michael J. A Reference Guide for English Studies.
Berkeley: U of California Press.
Current through 1985, this selective guide provides lists of reference
works useful to particular areas of English studies. Individual
sections, such as medieval literature, restoration literature, nineteenth
century literature, etc., list guides and reviews of research, bibliographies,
and other reference works. Most entries are annotated. Person, title
and subject indexes provide access.
Z
2011 .B74 1998 Reference
Bracken, James K. Reference Works in British and American
Literature. 2nd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited.
Focuses on reference resources devoted to individual writers. Lists
major bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, concordances
and journals devoted to individual writers.
Z
2011 .H34 2002 Reference
Harner, James
L. Literary Research Guide: an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies.
4th ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America.
A selective and annotated guide to reference sources for the study
of English literature (all regions). Dealing
with different genres of literature, it provides listings for important
bibliographies, abstracts, surveys of research, indexes, databases,
catalogues, general histories, annals, chronologies, dictionaries,
encyclopedias, and handbooks. The resource does not list extremely
basic reference sources and is geared towards more advanced studies
of English literature.
|
|
|
| |
| Encyclopedias
& Bibliographies |
| |
|
Dictionary
of Literary Biography
An extensive series that provides bio-bibliographical information
for authors in numerous genre-specific and time-specific categories.
It is largely focused on British literature, although French and
American writers are also included. To retrieve titles in the series,
browse on series for dictionary
of literary biography in the U of T catalogue. Also available
online in the Literature Resource Centre .
The
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Wonderfully cross-referenced, this online guide provides alphabetically-arranged
entries to key figures, topics, concepts, and schools of thought
in literary theory and criticism. All entries are signed and contain
bibliographies outlining key works for further study.
Literature Resource Center 
The foundation of the Literature Resource Center is built on the
Gale Group's three hallmark author databases: Contemporary Authors
Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 100,000 writers;
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all
authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete
profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol.
95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more
than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written
by academic scholars.
MagillonLiterature Plus
Source for reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries
of the most studied works in the history of literature. Includes
the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including Masterplots
and Masterplots II titles; the Cyclopedia of World Authors; the
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters; and 10 years of Magill's Literary
Annuals and Magill Book Reviews.
Concise
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
A online resource that allows quick look-ups of commonly used literary terms.
Twayne's
Authors Series (search for this title via U of T Library page)
The Twayne Authors Series offers criticism by scholars on hundreds
of years of literature--from Aristophanes to Bharati Mukherjee.
It provides critical introductions to the lives and works of writers,
to the history and influence of literary movements, or the development
of literary genres. Primarily devoted to critical interpretation
and discussion of authors' works, these studies take account of
major literary trends and important contributions to scholarship
and criticism, and provide new critical insights and original points
of view. Each treatment of an author averages from 175 to 200 pages
in length.
PN
56 .S9 F47 1999 Reference
Ferber, Michael. A Dictionary of Literary Symbols.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press.
Explains symbols frequently appearing in Western literature, giving
a history of their use and the contexts in which they frequently
appear. Also offers guidance on how to research symbols not included
in this dictionary.
PN
771 .E5 1999 Vols. 1-4 Reference
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century.
3rd ed. Ed. Steven R. Serafin. Farmington Hills, MI: St. James Press.
Entries on authors containing biographical information, critical
assessment, a listing of their works and a bibliography of works
for further reading. Entries for national literatures provide information
on different genres within these traditions as well as suggested
further readings. Note that this work also contains references to
non-English literatures.
PR
19 .C66 2003 Reference
The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature.
Ed. Steven R. Serafin and Valerie Grosvenor Myer. New York: Continuum.
Short entries on major figures, genres and concepts. Some entries
contain bibliographies.
PR
25 .B75 2001 Reference
British and Irish Literature and Its Times: Celtic Migrations
to the Reform Bill (Beginnings-1830s). Ed. Joyce Moss. Detroit:
Gale Group.
and
PR
25 .B76 2001 Reference
British and Irish Literature and Its Times: the Victoria Era
to the Present (1837-). Ed. Joyce Moss. Detroit: Gale Group.
These reference works cover key literary works written during their
time periods, placing them within their historical, social, psychological
and economic contexts in order to draw comparisons between literary
and historical realities. Entries are lengthy and bibliographies
for further reading are provided.
PR
85 .B688 Vols. 1-8 + Supplements Reference
British Writers. Ed. Ian Scott-Kilvert. New York:
Scribner.
Chronologically covers writers from the 14th century to the present
day. Short essay-length entries provide a short biography of the
subject, survey of subject's principle writings, assessment of work
as a whole and bibliographies of suggested further reading.
PR
85 .E49 1991 Reference
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism. Eds. Martin
Coyle et al. Detroit: Gale Research.
Essay-length entries covering the structure of critical debate surrounding
texts. Work is divided into major sections (each containing several
essays) addressing issues such as various periods in English literature
(e.g., medieval, renaissance, postmodernism), poetry (e.g. epic
& romance, Victorian, lyric, contemporary American), drama (e.g.
tragedy, comedy, theories of modern drama, feminist theatre), the
novel (e.g., historical, feminine fictions, realism, formalism),
critical traditions (e.g., biblical hermeneutics, neo-classical,
Marxist, new historicism), various aspects relating to production
and reception of literature, contexts (e.g., literature and the
Bible, literature and music, aestheticism), and perspectives (e.g.
African literature in English, African-American tradition, Indian
literature in English). Each essay contains works cited and a list
of suggestions for further reading.
PR
85 .R42 1996 Reference
Reader's Guide to Literature in English. Ed. Mark
Hawkins-Dady. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers.
Provides descriptions and evaluations of critical writings on a
range of topics and writers in the literature of the British Isles,
the United States, and other major English-speaking traditions.
Covers national traditions and periods (e.g., Canadian Literature,
Australian Literature), genres and idioms (e.g., Travel Literature,
The Sonnet), literary theory (e.g., Deconstruction), cultural contexts
(e.g., Film and Literature), writing by minorities (e.g. Native
American Literature), artistic schools and movements (e.g. Beat
Generation) and entries on individual writers.
PR
85 .C29 1993 Reference
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English. New
ed. Ed. Ian Ousby. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press.
Approximately 4500 entries providing information on American, British,
Canadian, Irish, Australian, New Zealand, African, Caribbean and
Indian literature. Includes biographical information, concepts,
genres and movements.
PR
106 .S28 1991 Reference
Reference Guide to English Literature. Ed. D.L. Kirkpatrick.
Chicago: St. James Press.
Short entries on writers from Britain, Ireland, Australia, Canada,
New Zealand, and from English-speaking Africa, Asia, and the Caribbean.
Each entry contains a complete list of writer's published works,
a selected list of bibliographies and critical studies on the writers,
and a short signed critical essay.
PR
115 .N54 2000 Reference
Nineteenth-Century British Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical
Critical Sourcebook. Ed. Abigail Burnham Bloom. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press.
Entries, varying substantially in length, contain biographical information,
an overview of major works by, and themes of, the author, their
critical reception, a bibliography of selected published works by
the author, and a bibliography containing suggestions for further
reading.
PR
116 .M63 2002 Reference
Modern British Women Writers: An A-Z Guide. Ed. Vicki
K. Janik and Del Ivan Janik. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.
More of an A-Y guide (the last entry is for E.H. Young), this work
provides essay-length entries on British women writers working in
the 20th century. All entries provide background biographical information,
a survey of critical analysis of the writer, and a bibliography
of works cited and consulted, which provide clues for further reading.
PR
451 .E55 2003 Reference
Encyclopedia of British Writers, 19th and 20th Centuries.
Eds. Christine L. Krueger and George Stade. New York: Facts on File.
The two volumes in this work provide short entries on major figures
in 19th and 20th century British literature. Most entries contain
bibliographies citing major critical works on the entry's subject.
PR
861 .B38 1997 Reference
Beene, Lynndianne. Guide to British Prose Fiction Explication: Nineteenth
and Twentieth Centuries. New York : G.K. Hall ; London:
Prentice Hall International.
Lists resources that explicate British prose writing. The resources
provided include sections of books and journal articles.
PR
9080 .A52 E6 1994 Reference
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English.
Ed. Eugene Benson and L.W. Conolly. London; New York: Routledge.
1600 entries encompass genres, major subjects (e.g., writing of
the Canadian north) and critical biographies of writers. An entry
is also provided on each region covered to provide context. Suggested
futher reading included for many entries.
PS
21 .R43 2000 Reference
Reference Guide to American Literature. 4th ed. Ed.
Thomas Riggs. Detroit: St. James Press.
Entries on individual authors include biographical data, a bibliography
including all the entrant's separately published works and a list
of critical studies, and a signed critical essay on the entrant's
work. Second part of the work contains short essays on key works
by different entrants.
PS
151 .B37 1997 Reference
One Hundred Years of American Women Writing, 1948-1948: An
Annotated Bio-Bibliography. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press;
Pasadena, CA: Salem Press.
Entries for American women writers working between 1848 and 1948.
Particularly useful for the annotated bibliographies of key critical
materials published on the authors' work.
PS
217 .W64 N56 1997 Reference
Nineteenth-Century American Women Writers: A Bio-Biographical
Critical Sourcebook. Ed. Denise D. Knight. Westport, CT:
Greenwood Press.
Entries, varying substantially in length, contain biographical information,
an overview of major works by, and themes of, the author, their
critical reception, a bibliography of selected published works by
the author, and a bibliography containing suggestions for further
reading.
PS371 .F33 2006 Reference (3 volumes)
The Facts on File Companion to the American Novel. Eds. Abby H. P. Werlock and James P. Werlock.
Original essays on 500 novels and biographical overviews of 450 authors who have won critical acclaim and major literary awards. iterary
Z
2011 .M69 Vols. 1 (1921)- Reference
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.
Cambridge.
An annual bibliography listing books and articles published on various
aspects of English language and literature in a particular year.
For literature, more recent volumes contain sections for particular
time periods (e.g., nineteenth century), within which appear subsections
dealing with various literary forms and works about particular authors. This bibliography is also searchable online.
Z
2011 .N45 Vols. 1-5 Reference
The New Cambridge Bibliogaphy of English Literature.
2nd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge UP.
Vol. 1: 600-1660 (Ed. George Watson)
Vol. 2: 1660-1800 (Ed. George Watson)
Vol. 3: 1800-1900 (Ed. George Watson); also have 3rd ed.
(Z 2011 .N45 1999 v.4; Ed. Joanne Shattock)
Vol. 4: 1900-1950 (Ed. I.R. Willison)
Vol. 5: Index
Although a bit dated (published between 1969 and 1975), this
work is a good guide to literature published by and about authors
within the field of English studies. The bibliography is restricted
to the literature of the British Isles. For volume 3, see the 3rd
ed. (1999) for more contemporary coverage. Access to the series
is provided by excellent tables of contents for each volume and
a detailed index (volume 5).
|
|
|
| |
| Literary
Theory & Terminology |
| |
|
PN
41 .H6 1996 Reference
Harmon, William & C. Hugh Holman. A Handbook to Literature.
7th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
Entries provided for a broad number of concepts, terms, movements
and genres in English literature. Entries are cross-referenced and
include citations to important works on the topic.
PN
45 .C74 1987 vols. 1-4 Reference
Critical Survey of Literary Theory. Ed. Frank N. Magill.
Pasadena, CA; Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press.
Covers major literary theorists, providing lists of their principal
works of criticism, short essays providing overviews of their work,
and bibliographies of works that address their theories.
PN
81 .C6 1995 Stacks
Critical Terms for Literary Study. 2nd ed. Eds. Frank
Lentricchia & Thomas McLaughlin. Chicago: University of Chicago
Press.
Twenty-eight essays providing an introduction to the work of literary
theory covering common literary concepts.
PN
86 .E63 1999 vols. 1-2 Reference
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism. Ed.
Chris Murray. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn.
Essay-length entries (374) providing information on major theorists'
lives, their influence, and their major works. Major movements and
concepts also have entires. Further reading lists accompany entries.
PN
172 .D813 1991 Reference
Dupriez, Bernard. Dictionary of Literary Devices.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press.
Approximately 2000 entries providing definitions and descriptions
for terminology frequently used in literary discourse. The entries
are frequently enhanced by the use of numerous examples to further
clarify the meaning of the term.
|
|
|
| |
| Biographical
Sources |
| |
|
See Biography
in e-Reference Tools.
See also
the works listed above in General Resources,
many of which contain biographical information.
|
| |
|
Biography
Index
Provides biographical information about prominent people in every
field. Covers information indexed from 3,000 periodicals, current
English-language books, including 2,000 works of individual and
collective biographies annually -- letters, autobiographies, memoirs,
journals, diaries, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, fiction,
drama, pictorial work, poetry, juvenile literature and more.
Dictionary
of Canadian Biography
A comprehensive, historical, biographical dictionary, it contains
the 14 published volumes in English and French of the print version.
Includes the accounts of the lives and times of the individuals
who contributed to Canada's development including business people,
artists, politicians, nurses, judges, doctors, soldiers, athletes
and poets. The dictionary currently contains entries only for
individuals who died before December 31, 1920.
Dictionary
of Literary Biography
An extensive series that provides bio-bibliographical information
for authors in numerous genre-specific and time-specific categories.
It is largely focused on British literature, although French and
American writers are also included. To retrieve titles in the series,
browse on series for dictionary
of literary biography in the U of T catalogue. Also available
online in the Literature
Resource Centre .
Oxford Dictionary
of National Biography
An illustrated biographical dictionary of people of distinction in the British
Isles and its colonies from the 4th century to the year 2000. This is an entirely new edition of what was known as the DNB. It is especially strong in its inclusion
of those who shaped history in the British Isles and beyond; people in public life (politics and government, the law, the
church, the army and the navy), but it also offers thorough coverage
of scholarship, literature, art and architecture, music, science
and medicine, education and philanthropy. It includes more women than appeared in the earlier edition. The database can be searched by personal name, occupation, contributor or within the full-text of entries and the references included. The earlier edition continues to be available on CD-ROM and accessible through the public workstations at Pratt Library.
|
|
|
| |
| Fiction |
| |
|
|
| |
|
General (See also
Useful Series)
Dictionary
of Literary Biography
An extensive series that provides bio-bibliographical information
for authors in numerous genre-specific and time-specific categories.
It is largely focused on British literature, although French and
American writers are also included. To retrieve titles in the
series, browse on series for dictionary
of literary biography in the U of T catalogue. Also available
online in the Literature
Resource Centre .
PN
41 .E53 1998 Reference
Encyclopedia of the Novel. Ed. Paul Shellinger. Chicago:
Fitzroy Dearborn.
PR
861 .B38 1997 Reference
Guide to British Prose Fiction Explication: Nineteenth and
Twentieth Centuries. New York: G.K. Hall.
PN
883 .C76 2001 Reference
Contemporary Novelists. 7th ed. Eds. Neil Schlager
and Josh Lauer. Detroit: St. James Press.
Entries include a biography, a complete list of separately published
books, and a signed essay. In many cases, a brief personal essay
by the entrant commenting on his/her work is included. Critical
works on the entrant are also listed.
PN3503 .F33 2008 (2 vols.) Reference
The Facts on File Companion to the World Novel: 1900 to the Present. Michael D. Sollars ed.
“(C)ollection of writings on almost 600 novelists and novels that emerged during arguably the most deamatic and transformative period in world literature.”
Z
5916 .H28 1988 Reference
Themes and Settings in Fiction: A Bibliography of Bibliographies.
Comps. Donald K. Hartman & Jerome Drost. Bibliographies and
Indexes in World Literature 14. New York: Greenwood.
Gothic,
Horror, Science Fiction & Fantasy
PN
3433.4 .E53 1993 Reference
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction. New ed. Eds. John
Clute & Peter Nicholls. New York: St. Martins Press.
PN
3435 .E53 1997 Reference
The Encyclopedia of Fantasy. Eds. John Clute &
John Grant. London: Orbit.
PR408 .G68 G675 2006
Gothic Literature: a Gale Critical Companion. Jessica Bomarito, project editor. Detroit : Thomson/Gale, 2006.
Z
5917 .S36 B87 2002 Reference
Burgess, Michael & Lisa R. Bartle. Reference Guide to
Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror. Westport, CT: Libraries
Unlimited.
Z
2014 .H67 F7 1987 Reference
Frank, Frederick S. The First Gothics: Critical Guide to
the English Gothic.
New York: Garland.
Z
1231 .G66 F7 1990 Reference
Frank, Frederick S. Through the Pale Door: A Guide to and
through the American Gothic. New York: Greenwood.
Z
5917 .G66 F7 1984 Reference
Guide to the Gothic: An Annotated Bibliography of Criticism.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press.
Mystery
& Detective Fiction
See Mystery
& Detective Fiction Subject Bibliography
Short
Story
PN
3373 .R36 1999 Reference
Reference Guide to Short Fiction. 2nd ed. Ed. Thomas
Riggs. Detroit: St. James Press.
Z
5917 .S5 C63 Reference
Short Story Index: Collections Indexed, 1900-1978.
New York: H.W. Wilson.
Z
5917 .S5 F5 + Supplement Reference
Firkins, Ina Ten Eyck. Index to Short Stories. New
York: Wilson.
|
|
|
| |
| Drama
& Theatre |
| |
See
also Useful Series
Dictionary
of Literary Biography
An extensive series that provides bio-bibliographical information
for authors in numerous genre-specific and time-specific categories.
It is largely focused on British literature, although French and
American writers are also included. To retrieve titles in the
series, browse on series for dictionary
of literary biography in the U of T catalogue. Also available
online in the Literature
Resource Centre .
PN
1625 .M3 1984 Vols. 1-5 Reference
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama. 2nd ed. Ed.
Stanley Hochman. New York: McGraw-Hill.
PN
2035 .C27 1995 Reference
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre. Ed. Martin Banham.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press.
PN
2035 .C65 2002 Reference
The Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre.
Ed. Colin Chambers. London; New York: Continuum.
PN
2035 .O9 1983 Reference
The Oxford Companion to the Theatre. Ed. Phyllis
Hartnoll. Oxford; Toronto: Oxford University Press.
PN
2035 .E52 1977 Reference
The Encyclopedia of World Theater. Ed. Martin Esslin.
New York: Scribner.
PN 2189W6 1994 Reference
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre. Don Rubin. New York: Routledge.
Z
5781 .O8 1988 Reference
Connor, Billie M. & Helene G. Mochedlover. Ottemiller's
Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title index to plays
appearing in collections published between 1900 and 1985.
7th ed, rev. and enl. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press.
|
|
|
| |
| Poetry |
| |
|
See also
Useful Series
Dictionary
of Literary Biography
An extensive series that provides bio-bibliographical information
for authors in numerous genre-specific and time-specific categories.
It is largely focused on British literature, although French and
American writers are also included. To retrieve titles in the series in the U of T catalogue,
click on the radio button "starting with" and arrow down to series for dictionary
of literary biography. Also available
online in the Literature
Resource Center .
PE
1505 .M3 1970 Reference
Malof, Joseph. A Manual of English Meters.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press.
PN
44.5 .D4 2002 Stacks
Deutsch, Babette. Poetry Handbook: A Dictionary of Terms.
4th ed. New York: Quill. PN
1021 .E52 1993 Reference
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics.
Eds. Alex Preminger and T.V.F. Brogan. Princeton: Princeton UP.
PN1022
.C64 1994 Reference
The Columbia Granger's index to poetry. 10th ed., completely
rev. indexing anthologies published through June 3, 1993. Ed. Edith
P. Hazen. New York: Columbia University Press.
This resource is available online .
It contains editions 8 through 11 of The Columbia Granger's Index
to Poetry in Anthologies, The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry
in Collected and Selected Works (1997), The Columbia Granger's Guide
to Poetry Anthologies (2d ed. 1994), The Columbia Granger's Dictionary
of Poetry Quotations (1996), The Classic 100 Poems (2d ed. 1990),
and some material from The Columbia Encyclopedia. Complete texts
of over 20,500 poems;excerpts for another 13,000. Full-text poems
added quarterly.
PN 1042 .M93 2003 Reference
Meyers, Jack Elliot. Dictionary of Poetic Terms. Denton, Texas: University of North Texas Press.
PN1042
.W514 1986 Reference
Williams, Miller. Patterns of Poetry: An Encyclopedia of Forms.
Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press.
PR
502 .C62 1994 Reference
The Columbia History of British Poetry. Ed. Carl Woodring.
New York: Columbia UP.
Z
2014 .P7 K8 1980 Reference
Kuntz, Joseph M. & Nancy C. Martinez. Poetry Explication:
A Checklist of Interpretation since 1925 of British and American
Poems Past and Present. Boston: G.K. Hall.
Z
2014 .P7 M34 1991 Vols.
1-4 Reference
Guide to British Poetry Explication. Boston:
G.K. Hall.
Vol. 1: Old-English - Medieval (Nancy
C. Martinez & Joseph G.R. Martinez)
Vol. 2: Renaissance (Nancy C. Martinez &
Joseph G.R. Martinez)
Vol. 3: Restoration - Romantic (Nancy C. Martinez,
Joseph G.R. Martinez & Erland Anderson)
Vol. 4: Victorian - Contemporary (Nancy C.
Martinez, Joseph G.R. Martinez & Erland Anderson)
Z
2014 .S6 D66 Reference
The Sonnet in England and America: A Bibliography of Criticism.
Comp. Herbert S. Donow. Westport, CT: Greenwood.
Z
2131 .P7 G85 1989 Reference Vols. 1-2
Guide to American Poetry Explication Boston: G.K.
Hall.
Vol. 1: Colonial and Nineteenth-Century
(James Ruppert)
Vol. 2: Modern and Contemporary (John R. Leo).
Z
7156 .E6 C64 Vols. 1-2 Reference
Coleman, Arthur. Epic and Romance Criticism: A Checklist of
Interpretations. New York: Watermill Publishers.
Vol. 1:
A Checklist of Interpretations, 1940-1972, of English and
American Epics and Metrical Romances.
Vol. 2: A Checklist of Interpretations, 1940-1973,
of Classical and Continental Epics and Metrical Romances.
|
|
|
| |
| Useful
Series |
| |
|
Authors
Series
An
extensive series that provides bio-bibliographical information for
authors in numerous genre-specific and time-specific categories.
To retrieve titles in the series, browse on series
for authors series in the U of T catalogue.
Bloom's
Major Dramatists, Novelists, Poets
Series
cover a selection of major dramatists, novelists, and poets, with
each book in series devoted to a single author. To retrieve titles
in the series, browse on series for
blooms major dramatists (or novelists
or poets) in the U of T catalogue.
Cambridge
Companion to ...
An extensive series published by Cambridge University Press. Covers
a wide range of topics in single volumes (e.g., Modernism, Shakespeare
Studies, British Romanticism, Renaissance Humanism, etc. as well as named authors such as Jane Austen, James Joyce or Jonathan Swift). To retrieve
titles in the series, browse on title
for cambridge companion to.
Dictionary
of Literary Biography
An extensive series that provides bio-bibliographical information
for authors in numerous genre-specific and time-specific categories.
It is largely focused on British literature, although French and
American writers are also included. To retrieve titles in the series,
browse on series for dictionary
of literary biography in the U of T catalogue. Also available
online in the Literature
Resource Centre .
MagillonLiterature Plus
Source for reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries
of the most studied works in the history of literature. Includes
the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including Masterplots
and Masterplots II titles; the Cyclopedia of World Authors; the
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters; and 10 years of Magill's Literary
Annuals and Magill Book Reviews.
New Critical
Idiom
Published by Routledge, this series covers literary terminology
with individual volumes devoted to a particular topic (e.g., Literature,
Romanticism, Gothic, Humanism, Ideology, Intertextuality, Myth,
Historicism, etc.). To retrieve titles in the series, browse
on series for new critical idiom in
the U of T catalogue.
The Oxford
History of English Literature
Individuals works in series cover specific genres (e.g., The
Victorian Novel), specific time periodis (e.g., English literature,
1815-1832) or particular figures (e.g., Chaucer and the Fifteenth
Century). To retrieve titles in the series, browse
on series for oxford history of english literature
in the U of T catalogue.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
A online resource that allows quick look-ups of commonly used literary terms..
Reference
Publication in Literature
Individual volumes in series cover a number of topics from individual
writers (e.g., T.S. Eliot) to different genres and national literatures
(e.g., Guide to French Poetry Explication). To retrieve titles in
the series, browse on series for
reference publication in literature in the U of T catalogue.
|
|
|
| |
| Book
Reviews |
| |
| For
more resources and guidance on finding criticism, see Find
Criticism of an Author's Work and Find
Journal Articles. |
| |
|
Book
Review Digest Plus 
[New York]: H.W. Wilson Co.
This is a bibliographic database that cites and provides excerpts
of reviews of English-language fiction and non-fiction books. An
abstract of each book is provided. Journal coverage includes approximately
100 leading magazines from the United States, Canada and Great Britain.
It covers 1983 to the present and the database is updated monthly.
The printed volumes began in 1905.
The E.J. Pratt
Library holds the print version (v. 79 (1983/84) - v. 93:n. 9 (12/1997))
of Book Review Digest. Locations are Z 1219 .B64 Reference
(v. 93:n. 1 (03/1997) - v. 93:n. 9 (12/1997)) and Z1219 .B64 Storage
(v. 79 (1983/84) - v. 93 (1997/98)).
MagillOnLiterature Plus 
[Ipswich, MA]: EBSCO Industries.
Includes: Masterplots complete, Cyclopedia of world authors, Cyclopedia
of literary characters, Magill's literary annual, Magill book reviews.
AI
3 .R48 Vols. 1 (1900-04) - 21 (1957/59); vols. 30 (1970/71) - 56
(1996) Reference
Readers
Guide to Periodical Literature. New York: H.W. Wilson.
Primarily used as an index for finding journal articles (quickly
being usurped by electronic indexes - see Periodical Indexes
below), this guide can be a good source for finding reviews of books,
especially where the reviews were published in the early- to mid-20th
century.
|
|
|
| |
| Article Databases |
| |
| See
U of T Libraries listing - English Literature E-Resources: Indexes and Abstracts |
| |
| See
Victoria
University Library Online Databases & CD-ROMs: Literature |
| |
| See
Victoria
University Librarys Printed Periodical Indexes & Abstracts
for Literature |
| |
|
|
| |
| Online
Literature |
| |
|
See also
e-Reference
Tools: Online Literature
Eighteenth
Century Collections Online
This
is a database of full-text books -- 150,000 English-language titles
and editions -- published in the eighteenth century. Eighteenth
Century Collections Online includes every significant English-language
and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain, along with
thousands of important works from the Americas.
Literature
Online
Literature
online is a fully searchable library of more than 260,000 works
of English and American poetry, drama and prose plus biographies,
bibliographies and key secondary sources.
|
| |
|
|
| |
| World
Wide Web |
| |
|
This section
contains World Wide Web resources that are freely available.
Cambridge
History of English and American Literature
Literary
Resources on the Net
Mr. William Shakespeare on the Internet
Voice
of the Shuttle: Web Page for Humanities Research
|
| |
|
|
| |
created
by Adam Taves
updated by Lisa Sherlock, April 2006 |
|
|
|