Resources in Latin American Studies


Electronic items marked are licensed for use by members of the University of Toronto community; use by others may be restricted. Items marked are for use in Victoria University Libraries only.
 
General Resources

E 184 .S75D53 1996 Reference
Dictionary of Hispanic Biography. Ed. Joseph C. Tardiff & L. Mpho Mabunda. New York: Gale Research.
Biographical dictionary of 470 Hispanic men and women from 15th century to the present.

F 1406 .C36 1992 Reference
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. 2nd ed. Editors, Simon Collier, Thomas E. Skidmore, Harold Blakemore. Cambridge [England] ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press.

F 1406 .E53 1996 Reference
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. Ed. Barbara A. Tenenbaum. New York: C. Scribner's Sons ; London : Simon & Schuster : Prentice Hall International.
A five volume set which covers the history, culture and people of Latin America. It includes 5000 entries.

F 1406 .R67 1992 Reference
Latin America: A Political Dictionary. Rossi, Ernest E. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio.

F 1408.3 .L272 1999 Stacks
Latin America: An Interdisciplinary Approach
. Eds. Julio López-Arias and Gladys M. Varona-Lacey. New York : P. Lang.
Fifteen essays cover various topics, past and present, in Latin American culture, politics, and economics.

F1410 .E56 2002 Reference
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
. Ed. Diana Kapiszewski. Westport, CT: Oryx Press.

GN 562 .S74 1999 Reference
Stephens, Thomas M. Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology. Gainesville: University Press of Florida.
Spanish American, Brazilian Portuguese, French American and American French Creole terms.

HC 94 .R668 1995 Reference
Rosenberg, Jerry Martin. Encyclopedia of the North American Free Trade Agreement, the New American Community, and Latin-American Trade. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.
An interpretive guide to the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the New American Community (NAC) which are two U.S. trading projects.

PC 4640 .M84 1999 Reference
Multicultural Spanish Dictionary: How Everyday Spanish Differs from Country to Country. Ed. Agustín Martínez.
Rockville, Md.: Schreiber Pub.

PQ 7081 .M625 1999 Reference
Moss, Joyce. Latin American Literature and Its Times. Detroit: Gale Group
History and criticsm of Latin American literature

PS 153 .H56 L39 2004 v.1-2 Reference
Latino and Latina Writers
. Ed. Alan West-Durán. New York: Charles Scribners Sons, 2004.

Intended as an introduction to a core grouping of authors and themes, this guidebook includes essays providing biographical information and overviews of the works of major Latino and Latina writers. Bibliographies accompany all entries.
                                                                                                                                          [top]
Article Databases and Bibliographies
 

See "Find Articles on Your Topic" (choose Latin American Studies from the drop-down menu)

Claseperiodica
Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 Latin American scholarly journals published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English.

Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Indexes such journals as Journal of Latin American Studies and Latin American Research Review from 1980 to the present.

FRANCIS
Indexes multilingual, multidisciplinary information published in over 4,200 journals covering the humanities (67%), social sciences (30%), and economics (3%). The database is strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature (with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature).

Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook of Latin American Studies offers scholarly evaluations of books and book chapters as well as conference papers and articles from more than 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies.

Historical Abstracts
A complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present.

MLA International Bibliography (available via the U of T Library page)
The Modern Language Bibliography is a major international bibliography of articles and monographs covering the world's languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. It contains citations for journal articles, book articles, books and book collections in the fields of literature, folklore and linguistics, published 1963 to the present.

Proquest (available via U of T Library page)
Indexes Business Latin America and Latin American Literary Review from the late 1990s to the present.

[top]

History & Politics

E 59 .E75J33 1999 Stacks
Jackson, Robert H. Race, Caste and Status: Indians in Colonial Spanish America. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1999.

E 111 .P67 1992 Stacks
Phillips, William D. The Worlds of Christopher Columbus. Cambridge [England]: Cambridge University Press, 1992.
A story of the life and times of Christopher Columbus which presents a balanced view of his influence

E 112 .S16 1991 Stacks
Sale, Kirkpatrick. The Conquest of Paradise: Christopher Columbus and the Columbian Legacy. New York : Plume, 1991.

E 123 .M38 1984 Stacks
McAlister, Lyle N. Spain and Portugal in the New World, 1492-1700. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1984.

F 1411 .H33 1970 Stacks
Hanke, Lewis. Aristotle and the American Indians: A Study in Race Prejudice in the Modern World. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1970.

F 1411 .L38 1994 Stacks
Lockhart, James. Early Latin America: A History of Colonial Spanish America and Brazil. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] New York: Cambridge University Press, 1983.

F 1412 .L38 1994 Stacks
Latin American Revolutions, 1808-1826: Old and New World Origins. Ed., John Lynch. Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, 1994.

F 1414 .L2793 1998 Stacks
Latin America: Politics and Society since 1930. Ed. Leslie Bethell. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge UP.

F 1435 .C72 1999 Stacks
Coe, Michael D. The Maya. 6th ed., London; New Hork: Thames and Hudson.

F 2429 .P453 1988 Stacks
Peruvian Prehistory : an Overview of Pre-Inca and Inca Society. Ed., Richard W. Keatinge. Cambridge {Cambridgeshire]: Cambridge University Press, 1988.

HC 125 .L3438 1998 Stacks
Latin America: Economy and Society since 1930. Ed. Leslie Bethell. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge UP.

JL 960 .W515 2001 Stacks
Wiarda, Howard J. & Harvey F. Kline. An Introduction to Latin American Politics and Government. Boulder, Co: Westview Press, 2001.

JL 960 .W52 2001 Stacks
Wiarda, Howard J. The Soul of Latin America: the Cultural and Political Tradition. New Haven, CT: Yale UP, 2001.

Lopez Lujan, Leonardo.The Offerings of the Templo Mayor of Tenochtitlan. Niwot [Colorado]:
University of Colorado Press, 1994.

[top]

Literature


PQ 7081 .H353 1999 Stacks

Hart, Stephen M. A Companion to Spanish-American Literature. Rochester, Ny: Tamesis, 1999.

PQ 7081 .J73 1998 Stacks
Jrade, Cathy Login. Modernismo, Modernity, and the Development of Spanish American Literature. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1998.

PQ 7082 .N7P755 2000 Stacks
Primitivism and Identiy in Latin America: Essays on Art, Literature, and Culture. Eds., Erik Camayd-Feixas and Jose Duardo Gonzalez Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2000.

Structures of power: essays on twentieth-century Spanish-American Fiction. Eds,. Terry J. Peavler and Peter Standish. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1996.

Tierney-Tello, Mary Beth. Allegories of Transgression and Transformation: Experimental Fiction by Women Writing Under Dictatorship. Albany, N.Y.: State University of New York Press, 1996.

[top]

E-Journals
[top]        
 
Web Resources

Online Bibliography: Environmental History of Latin America
Environmental bibliography of over 400 resources for Latin America and includes reviews of books, films and web resources

A Political Database of the Americas
Information, documents and bibliographies about the consttiutions, electoral systems, electoral data and political parties in the Americas.
Accessible in English, French, Spanish and Portuguese

Latin American Information Center
A comprehensive site with most of the information in Spanish.

Latin American Election Statistics
Election statistics, municipal to federal in some Spanish speaking countries of Latin America from 1800s to the present.

[top]

 
Created by Catharine Montgomery.
Updated by
Lisa Sherlock
October 2010