|
|
|
|
| |
| See
also University
of Toronto Libraries e-Resources |
| |
| Victoria
University Library e-Resources |
| |
|
| Biography
| Encyclopedias
- General & Subject |
| Literature
| Theology & Religious Studies | Title
List | |
| |
|
Victoria University
Libraries maintains subscriptions to many electronic resources for
subject areas supported by Victoria University. These resources
are available in addition to all University
of Toronto Libraries e-Resources.
Please note
that the following electronic resources must be accessed on site
at the E.J. Pratt Library or the Emmanuel College Library.
Databases &
CD-ROMs are available at both E.J. Pratt Library and the Emmanuel
Library unless otherwise noted.
CD-ROMs are
accessible on the <START> menu under "Vic CD-ROMs and
Databases". Consult the reference desk if you require assistance.
|
 |
| Biography |
| |
|
Dictionary
of National Biography (DNB) on CD-ROM. 1st ed. 1885-1901 +Supplements
Biographical dictionary of people of distinction in the British
Isles and its colonies 'from the earliest times' and who died before
December 31, 1985. The DNB is especially strong in its inclusion
of people in public life (politics and government, the law, the
church, the army, and the navy), but it also offers thorough coverage
of scholarship, literature, art and architecture, music, science
and medicine, education and philanthropy. It is searchable by names,
by word or combination of words and by phrases, as well as by occupation
and other fields. A new edition of this work is now available online as the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
|
| |
| Encyclopedias
- General & Subject |
| |
|
Brockhaus
Enzyklopadie
Provides the whole content of all 30 volumes with: numerous plates
and maps; subject and keyword information for topical issues, extensive
articles on 193 countries covering political, social, educational
and media aspects; multimedia components including an audiotheque
of ca. 4,000 audio examples (speeches, music, videos, debates, spoken
literary texts, nature sounds, animationd, etc.) of 70 hours duration.
Reference to audio examples in the text by audio pictograms, 3D
globe with 2 million geographical entries, freely turnable and zoomable
easy and transparent navigation with comprehensive and flexible
search tools. This is a German language encyclopedia.
Encyclopaedia
Judaica on CD-ROM
Complete text of 16-vol. 1972 Encyclopaedia Judaica, Yearbooks and
the Decennials (1982 & 1992). Contains updates to articles not
included in the printed works. Full-text searching,index browsing,
hyperlinks to related articles, and automatic cross-referencing.
Photographs, maps, charts, tables, slide shows, film and audioclips,
and Hebrew pronunciations.
Routledge
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Comprehensive resource. Articles from all continents, all periods
and cultures. World Wide Web version of the highly-regarded print
encyclopedia published in 1998. Articles cover, amongst others,
Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary,
continental and contemporary philosophy. Quarterly updates and additions. |
| |
| Literature |
| |
|
Arden Shakespeare
on CD-ROM {Pratt only}
Complete text of every play and poem in The Arden Shakespeare second
series, including introductions, commentary, variant notes, and
five background works: Bullough's Narrative and Dramatic Sources
of Shakespeare: Bevington's bibliography Shakespeare; Abbott's A
Shakespearean Grammar; Onions and Eagleson's A Shakespeare Glossary;
Partridge's Shakespeare's Bawdy. A complete set of Folio and Quarto
facsimiles. Compare the Arden, Folio and Quarto versions of a passage
easily; search for references to words and produce a list of their
locations and frequency. Hypertext links to cross references.
Chaucer:
Life and Times CD-ROM {Pratt only}
A comprehensive, interactive resource. Provides access to: the complete
works (Riverside Chaucer), with translations; critical commentaries;
texts and images with audio clips in Middle English; Chaucer's life;
tutorial on how to read a medieval manuscript; and a glossary of
Middle English words. Texts and images are searchable.
Shakespeare in Quarto
The British Library has posted online 93 high-resolution copies of 21 of the earliest versions of Shakespeare's plays. The plays included were originally printed during the playwright's lifetime and include many lines and passages that are different from those found in the First Folio editions, which were not printed until after Shakespeare's death. Having the copies available online permits easy access to works that are believed to be closer to the original text of the plays. The Web site includes background information, images, sound clips, and tools to allow comparison of the earlier versions of the plays with the more common later versions, to see how the text has changed.
.Virginia
Woolf Resources
- The Complete
Works of Virginia Woolf on CD-ROM
{Pratt only}
Has variant and hard-to-find editions. 12,000+ manuscript images
from the Collection at the New York Public Library and the Monks
House Papers at the University of Sussex. Contents are full-text
searchable with broad hyperlinking and cross-referencing.
- Reading
Notes for Three Guineas: An Edition and Archive {Pratt
only}
Provides online access to the archive
of source materials kept by Virginia Woolf as she researched and
prepared her work, Three Guineas. This resource currently
contains three volumes of news clipping scrapbooks contained at
the University of Sussex.
- Selected
Papers of the 12th Annual Virginia Woolf Conference {Pratt
only}
|
| |
| Theology
& Religious Studies |
| |
|
Anchor Bible
Dictionary on CD-ROM {Emmanuel only}
Includes all 6 volumes of the 1992 Anchor Bible Dictionary. 6,200
entries by nearly 1,000 international scholars. Contains the full
English texts of the King James Version and the New Revised Standard
Version of the Bible. Features: full-text searching; hyperlinks
to cross-references, abbreviations, and illustrations.
BibleWorks
This concordance program can do simple searches in the New Revised
Standard Version to complex searches in the original biblical languages.
Includes classic translations, eg. the Septuagint, the Vulgate,
the Lutherbibel, and the King James Version , as well as modern
translations. It also covers the Apocrypha/Deuterocanonical books.
The Dead
Sea Scrolls on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only}
This is an ongoing, comprehensive archive of digitized images the
Dead Sea Scrolls material. Includes bibliographic information and
several indexes. Transcriptions, translations, and other reference
material are being added.
The Early
Church Fathers: Their Writings & Teachings on CD-ROM
{Emmanuel
only}
This CD contains the writings of early Christian thinkers around
the period of the Council of Nicaea (325c.e.). Keyword, phrase,
and Boolean searching.
Hebrew &
Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament (HAL) on CD-ROM
This lexicon is widely recognized as being the standard modern dictionary for Biblical Hebrew. It combines scholarly thoroughness with easy accessibility. The CD-ROM edition of the dictionary contains all the information available in the print edition of HAL. Every 'see also' cross-reference to other articles in the dictionary is to be made into a hyperlink. Biblical references are also enabled to be hyperlinks to Biblical texts.
Old Testament
Abstracts on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only}
For the study of the Hebrew Bible. Journal articles, books, essays
and Festschriften. Archaeology, apocryphal literatures, biblical
theology, history, geography and linguistics. Search on specific
biblical passages. 1991 onwards.
Religious
and Theological Abstracts
Summaries of journal articles in religion and theology. About 440
publications. English abstracts of non-English language articles.
The Works
of John Wesley on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only}
The fourteen volume edition of Wesley's works, published 1829-1831.
King James Bible is included.
|
| |
| Title
List |
| |
|
Anchor Bible
Dictionary on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only}
Arden Shakespeare
on CD-ROM {Pratt only}
BibleWorks
for Windows on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only}
Chaucer:
Life and Times on CD-ROM {Pratt only}
The Dead
Sea Scrolls on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only}
Dictionary
of National Biography on CD-ROM
The Early
Church Fathers: Their Writings & Teachings on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only}
Encyclopedia
Judaica on CD-ROM
Hebrew & Aramaic Lexicon of the New Testament on CD-ROM
Old Testament
Abstracts on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only}
Religious & Theological Abstracts
Routledge
Encyclopedia of Philosophy {Pratt and Emmanuel only}
Virginia
Woolf Resources
Works of
John Wesley on CD-ROM {Emmanuel
only} |
|
|
|